Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-04-19, 09:45 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,671
The PS5's Ryzen 3600G Rumours are Complete Nonsense

Rumours and lies, obvious lies.



Read more about Sony's Ryzen 3600G powered PS5 rumours.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-04-19, 10:20 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,344
Yeah I saw these the other day and was clearly rubbish from a mile off(Particularly now we know 3X00G will be Zen+ monolithic APUs from deliddings) but I mean, this is their source lol:
https://www.pelhamsmithers.com/

Stock market analysts discussing technology are always a funny bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-04-19, 02:40 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 477
Anyone who's into gaming news and tech knows that consoles always use custom made chips. This isn't even newsworthy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-04-19, 03:12 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImprovizoR View Post
Anyone who's into gaming news and tech knows that consoles always use custom made chips. This isn't even newsworthy.
As said in the article, the Switch does use a premade chip from Nvidia, not a custom one.

The whole point of this article is to point out that the rumours reported by Wired, Tom's Hardware and Tweaktown are clearly false. Someone needs to call out what is clearly misinformation.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-04-19, 10:18 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
As said in the article, the Switch does use a premade chip from Nvidia, not a custom one.
I thought it was a custom Tegra chip.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-04-19, 11:45 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,344
It's a Tegra X1 with different clock speeds, I guess you could kinda say the Xbox Original's CPU was a coppermine Celeron with a slightly different cache config too but I guess a different bin is a slightly bigger change than dialing in different clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-04-19, 09:42 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImprovizoR View Post
I thought it was a custom Tegra chip.
It is a Tegra X1, the only difference is the clock speeds given the Switches portable and docked modes etc.

I wouldn't define the SoC as custom, as it is no different from what is available in the Shield TV. Yeah, clock speeds differ, but Nvidia just sold Nintendo a chip that they were already making.

TBH, Nvidia isn't interested in the console market because of its low margins. The sales volumes are huge, but it isn't enough for Nvidia to see it as worth it. It's a different story for AMD, as all extra money is good money for them, and pushing console developers to make games with their hardware in mind can only be a good thing for them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
It's a Tegra X1 with different clock speeds, I guess you could kinda say the Xbox Original's CPU was a coppermine Celeron with a slightly different cache config too but I guess a different bin is a slightly bigger change than dialing in different clocks.
Yeah, the X1 used in the Switch isn't any different from what Nvidia uses in the Shield TV, aside from clocks.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.