Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-01-19, 06:24 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,284
Far Cry New Dawn PC System Requirements Announced

Settings and Framerate targets included.



Read more about Far Cry: New Dawn's PC system requirements.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-01-19, 08:08 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,392
Interesting to see them recommend SLI and Crossfire setups.
Based off that the only single card to probably hit 4k60 is the 2080ti. Don't think the Vega 7 will if it's similar to a 2080
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-01-19, 09:02 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,071
My Fury X had no issues running FC5 smoothly @1600p. I can't see why this would be any more punishing, given it's basically the same game albeit rather burnt lol.

Will be a nice distraction from the stress.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-01-19, 09:16 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,392
Because 1600p is not nearly as demanding as 2160p60?
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-01-19, 09:20 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Because 1600p is not nearly as demanding as 2160p60?
It's more than 1440p, on a card with half of the VRAM of Vega 56. Then again in all honesty Vega 56 really isn't that much faster than a Fury X. Both were around 1070 levels.

I'm just saying that I think they may have exaggerated just a little bit on those specs. I reckon you could get way more than 30 FPS on a Vega... We'll see though, as I will be sure to test mine for y'all when it comes out. Already pre ordered it
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-01-19, 09:34 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,201
1600p as in 2560*1600? It's less than half the pixel count of 4K.
__________________
i7 8700k - 2x8Gb 3400MHz CL14-14-14-34 - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-19, 09:39 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 571
It states the 4k60 settings are with the preset on Ultra, so you presumably could get 4k60 on Vega if you knocked a few less noticeable settings down (MSAA?)
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.

Check out my latest piece of commissioned work: http://ehenleyshutters.com/novo-in-black/
[It's a company page not run by me, I just did the electronics & software design work]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-01-19, 10:12 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
It states the 4k60 settings are with the preset on Ultra, so you presumably could get 4k60 on Vega if you knocked a few less noticeable settings down (MSAA?)
Far Cry 5 didn't feature MSAA. I don't see why New Dawn would.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-01-19, 10:19 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 571
It was just a guess at a taxing setting that loses value at 4K, I've not played any FC on a PC since 3, though I remember never really noticing much visual difference at all between half the settings in that.
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.

Check out my latest piece of commissioned work: http://ehenleyshutters.com/novo-in-black/
[It's a company page not run by me, I just did the electronics & software design work]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-01-19, 10:32 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
1600p as in 2560*1600? It's less than half the pixel count of 4K.
On a Fury X with 4gb VRAM. I know 4k would be more taxing, I'm not saying it won't, I just feel they have exaggerated the necessary GPU grunt to run this at 4k. Yes it's a very pretty game, but it runs really well. Oh, and I was using a 2.4ghz CPU as well.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.