Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-01-19, 07:12 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
3DMARK Port Royal, the First Dedicated Ray Tracing Benchmark, has Launched

Ready for some DXR benchmarking?



Read more about UL Benchmark's 3DMARK Port Royal.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-19, 10:47 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,286
So if I understood correctly if you own the base 3dmark you get this for free?
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-19, 10:49 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
So if I understood correctly if you own the base 3dmark you get this for free?
No. It's £1.99 for existing owners and free with all new purchases of 3DMARK.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-19, 10:58 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,286
Oh I read it wrong, I see it now. Well no point in getting it since I don't have RTX and don't need to pay for a slideshow
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-19, 11:09 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Oh I read it wrong, I see it now. Well no point in getting it since I don't have RTX and don't need to pay for a slideshow
Ah go on. It will be a pretty slideshow. TBH part of me wanted to buy it, despite not having an RTX card here either.

Just how badly do older GPUs run on this?

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-19, 11:32 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,286
Well grab it and do a review and I'll wait for results instead of getting it myself
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-19, 11:37 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Well grab it and do a review and I'll wait for results instead of getting it myself
I'd need an RTX comparison point for a proper comparison. Will need to give TTL a bell in the morning to see what we should do about this.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-19, 12:43 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,286
Very true, forget sometimes you don't have access often to his stock of products
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-19, 01:44 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,471
So I updated everything and ran bare bones (you know benchmark style) and well nothing! Not a sausage.



Every other bench works fine just not Port Royal, has anyone else with a non RTX card managed it?
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-19, 09:13 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Ah go on. It will be a pretty slideshow. TBH part of me wanted to buy it, despite not having an RTX card here either.

Just how badly do older GPUs run on this?


GPUs without hardware DXR support won't work. There is a fallback emulation layer but must be implemented by the developer and has already been deprecated..
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.