Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-01-19, 05:56 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,823
ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe II Review



The excellent ASUS Prime has a new version in the form of the Prime Deluxe II, so naturally we put it through our tests.


ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe II Review

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-19, 08:05 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,028
Disclaimer: This is a personal rant. I was looking forward to this board because i like ASUS, and i like Deluxe boards. (I am rocking Z97 Deluxe now) And this could have bean the perfect board for my next system in the near future (possibly). I need Thunderbolt and I was waiting for this board's release. I would be happy if i am wrong and this sin't the case.

Amazing looking board, but it has a catastrophic flaw. I read through documentation and it is not specified anywhere, but if you look at the lane distribution Thunderbolt 3 is connected via PCH. Also there is no block diagram in the manual. Hmm... Intel platforms don't have 24 PCH lanes, they have 4. Because PCH is connected to CPU via DMI 3.0 link which is PCI-E 3 x4. So PCH is basically a PLX chip that governs the traffic. It is enough to put 1 NVME drive on PCH slot, with couple of HDDs, with all the regular traffic (USBs, Network, etc.) and DMI is clogged up. Where do you find the bandwidth then for 2 Thunderbolt 3 pots? You can't run 1 at full speed via PCH.

They could have done it with CPU lanes. They have done it before. Previous Deluxe boards had crazy lane distribution. And you could connect anything. Rampage VI Extreme has good lane distribution. You could run Dimm.2 drives from PCH or from CPU lanes. If you run it form CPU last PCI-E slot is reduced to x4 from x8. If you run them from PCH, PCI-E x4 slot is disabled. Brilliant. And what was wrong with add-in board on previous Deluxe motherboards? If you need it use it, and you have proper CPU x4 lanes. If you don't, then leave it in the box. This way if you need Thunderbolt 3 you can't use it. And you can't put add-in board. And it says it supports it.

Just a cheep marketing trick to say that board has native support for Thunderbolt 3. If you need Thunderbolt 3 connectivity don't bother with this board. It doesn't support it. Go with any other board that has Thunderbolt 3 support via add-in card.

Back to the drawing board with this one ASUS.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-19, 08:40 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,112
She is a stunner, though. Man that's a bloody good looking motherboard.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-19, 09:31 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
Disclaimer: This is a personal rant. I was looking forward to this board because i like ASUS, and i like Deluxe boards. (I am rocking Z97 Deluxe now) And this could have bean the perfect board for my next system in the near future (possibly). I need Thunderbolt and I was waiting for this board's release. I would be happy if i am wrong and this sin't the case.

Amazing looking board, but it has a catastrophic flaw. I read through documentation and it is not specified anywhere, but if you look at the lane distribution Thunderbolt 3 is connected via PCH. Also there is no block diagram in the manual. Hmm... Intel platforms don't have 24 PCH lanes, they have 4. Because PCH is connected to CPU via DMI 3.0 link which is PCI-E 3 x4. So PCH is basically a PLX chip that governs the traffic. It is enough to put 1 NVME drive on PCH slot, with couple of HDDs, with all the regular traffic (USBs, Network, etc.) and DMI is clogged up. Where do you find the bandwidth then for 2 Thunderbolt 3 pots? You can't run 1 at full speed via PCH.

They could have done it with CPU lanes. They have done it before. Previous Deluxe boards had crazy lane distribution. And you could connect anything. Rampage VI Extreme has good lane distribution. You could run Dimm.2 drives from PCH or from CPU lanes. If you run it form CPU last PCI-E slot is reduced to x4 from x8. If you run them from PCH, PCI-E x4 slot is disabled. Brilliant. And what was wrong with add-in board on previous Deluxe motherboards? If you need it use it, and you have proper CPU x4 lanes. If you don't, then leave it in the box. This way if you need Thunderbolt 3 you can't use it. And you can't put add-in board. And it says it supports it.

Just a cheep marketing trick to say that board has native support for Thunderbolt 3. If you need Thunderbolt 3 connectivity don't bother with this board. It doesn't support it. Go with any other board that has Thunderbolt 3 support via add-in card.

Back to the drawing board with this one ASUS.


Also my rant is - Shame that readers have to pick up on stuff like this, this is the stuff reviewers should be highlighting.

ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe II = Crap Board = Don't buy it
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.29v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - G.SKill [email protected] 2x16GB - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-19, 12:27 AM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Also my rant is - Shame that readers have to pick up on stuff like this, this is the stuff reviewers should be highlighting.

ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe II = Crap Board = Don't buy it

not to step on anyones foot here but....

reviewing today means benchmarking a few dozen apps and games. something that is completely useless for me. i don´t care about 5% performance difference.


it´s nice to know that a board is as fast as to be expected.... but that´s it.





the flaws a board has you will most likely not find on vlogs or "review" websites.

they install windows and run a few tests. then they focus on the next content to create. lately some folks focus on VRM temps and but that is as deep as it gets.

i have seen so many boards praised only to find obvious issues in real life.



example... a board has 6 SATA ports and not a single website (out of 5) mentions that 2 of them need to be disabled when you enable another feature.
it is a chipset (pci lane) limitation but all you read is "the board has 6 SATA ports".... yeah well i can see that. i can read a spec list and look at a photo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-19, 02:26 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothmoth View Post


example... a board has 6 SATA ports and not a single website (out of 5) mentions that 2 of them need to be disabled when you enable another feature.
it is a chipset (pci lane) limitation but all you read is "the board has 6 SATA ports".... yeah well i can see that. i can read a spec list and look at a photo.

Those kind of details get covered in the initial cpu/platform review - no need to bring it up on every single board.

As for the Thunderbolt - I have no way to accurately test it (I dont have one TB enabled screen let alone 2 or 3) and to say about the bandwidth Id need to say why its required and what the impact has been - not might be.
Sometimes you just have to do the best that you can do with what you have available.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-19, 02:47 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Those kind of details get covered in the initial cpu/platform review - no need to bring it up on every single board.

As for the Thunderbolt - I have no way to accurately test it (I dont have one TB enabled screen let alone 2 or 3) and to say about the bandwidth Id need to say why its required and what the impact has been - not might be.
Sometimes you just have to do the best that you can do with what you have available.
Considering nearly all Intel boards disable the Sata ports 1,2 (and 3?) when you load up the PCI-e slots now, I don't see the need to explain it in a video review, but just a copy paste small paragraph in the text overview. It would involve little thinking and keeps those curious who wonder about this aspect satisfied.

That's why I guess Johnny Guru replicates many paragraphs word for word on his reviews. Simply because its the same thing product to product, but covers the non-basic questions people will start to complain about that is missing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-19, 07:23 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
As for the Thunderbolt - I have no way to accurately test it (I dont have one TB enabled screen let alone 2 or 3) and to say about the bandwidth Id need to say why its required and what the impact has been - not might be.
Sometimes you just have to do the best that you can do with what you have available.
Yea it is a tricky one. Not many people use it. ASUS has top engineers, and if I could figure this out they certainly knew. And we come to that old saying: Don't fix it if it ain't broken. Nothing was wrong with add-in card with previous boards. You can argue that they wanted to give you more PCI-E slots. But they reduced the number vs previous board.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.