Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-12-18, 10:17 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
It looks like Battlefield V is gaining support for Nvidia's performance-boosting DLSS

DLSS at 1080p?



Read more about Battlefield V leaked DLSS plans.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-12-18, 12:03 AM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,038
Still the sole, most exciting feature of the new family to me but also with zero implementation hitherto. Proves why I don't like to buy into new tech immediately promises, promises...
__________________
Asus Z370 MXH | 8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Win10 Pro x64
We call ourselves legion, for many we be. So hand me your kingdom, I'll take it from here. And dare no one break from, my circles of fear

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-12-18, 11:29 AM
jimthethesnake jimthethesnake is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
ttl is right

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheF34RChannel View Post
Still the sole, most exciting feature of the new family to me but also with zero implementation hitherto. Proves why I don't like to buy into new tech immediately promises, promises...
new is cool but not £400 over priced
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-12-18, 11:38 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 12,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheF34RChannel View Post
Still the sole, most exciting feature of the new family to me but also with zero implementation hitherto. Proves why I don't like to buy into new tech immediately promises, promises...

Yep, Personally would've thrown my money at Nvidia if the 2080 Ti was £699 like the 1080 Ti but at £1099 they can go jump, And this is coming from someone who's bought multiple Titans in the past.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-12-18, 02:27 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Yep, Personally would've thrown my money at Nvidia if the 2080 Ti was £699 like the 1080 Ti but at £1099 they can go jump, And this is coming from someone who's bought multiple Titans in the past.
Was thinking this the other day when I could have amassed about £700 in funds by mid Jan. Then I remembered how much they cost, and how much it would cost to add a block and for what? to make a game I don't like that much have RT.

BFV looks stunning, even at 1080p on a Vega 64. The problem isn't the graphics it's the game. It's that tired, same old format.

After playing Fallout 76 for most of Xmas? yeah, BFV is stunning to look at. I just can't get into it even with the good actors and characters.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-12-18, 04:34 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Yep, Personally would've thrown my money at Nvidia if the 2080 Ti was £699 like the 1080 Ti but at £1099 they can go jump, And this is coming from someone who's bought multiple Titans in the past.
Me too! Watched the keynote with money in hand but alas. Ti costs an abysmal €1400-1900 here... Non Ti around a 1000...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-12-18, 11:07 AM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 212
what about the news that BF5 runs with raytracing on a TITAN V with 100 FPS?


Quote:
WQHD @ultra und RTX hoch = 60-100fps mit avg ca. 80fps

the titan V has no RTX cores. so it seems it reaches that performance just with ALUs.


https://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbull...4#post11887094
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-12-18, 01:35 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,893
Titan V has Tensor cores for deep learning. Did you really think that RT cores were a thing?

They are just renamed Tensor cores dude. You know? ones that would be pretty much useless otherwise to some one who plays games.

From Kepler on what you have been gaming on has been seriously cut down GPUs. Fermi was expensive from a manufacturing standpoint because it had great big honking dies useless for gaming.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-12-18, 01:41 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 416
It's no news that other architectures can run the RT software, and the Titan V has most of the important hardware used in the RT pipeline already(Tensor cores are critical, as are the improved mixed precision instructions amongst many other things), the famous Star Wars demo demonstrated that Pascal cards and Volta can certainly run the calculations required, just around x4 slower minimum for Volta, with the lack of Tensor cores cutting Pascal's performance down to almost half Volta's.



If it really is possible to hit 100fps on a Titan V now then it demonstrates the monumental improvements that have been made to the RT pipeline since developers were finally able to get their hands on it and apply it practically to anything beyond small test environments. It's worth remembering, in terms of pure compute performance the Titan V is a notably larger, more expensive & more powerful chip than any of Turing's offerings (Since it was never intended for consumers), and is the card initial RTX offerings were technically originally made on(The only real developer card pre 2000 series).


Quote:
the titan V has no RTX cores. so it seems it reaches that performance just with ALUs.
Titan V has Tensor cores(Used for de-noising the ray traced image significantly faster), and many specialised units/instructions that went into Turing's shader.


EDIT---
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
They are just renamed Tensor cores dude. You know? ones that would be pretty much useless otherwise to some one who plays games.
Nahhhh, Tensor cores are useful for the RT pipeline but only perform denoising calculation on the post-RayTraced image and offer around a x1.5 speed up per CUDA tops(It essentially allows you to make a messier less complete RT image quick and dirty, and then clean it up rapidly after), the RT cores still offer around an x4 speed up in relevant calculations and don't perform anything remotely comparable to the same type of calculation. Essentially, Volta is far closer to Turing under the hood than Pascal was, even if most software doesn't demonstrate that, but the 1 RT core per SM added to Turing SM's is undeniably a performance impacting architecture change too when relevant.
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.

Check out my latest piece of commissioned work: https://twitter.com/smart_tilt
[Note, it's a company page not run by me, I just did the electronics & software design work]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-19, 12:14 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,079
RT cores are not Tensor cores. They should not be considered as the same thing.

As said above, early Ray Tracing demos used Tensor cores to de-noise Ray-traced images to reduce the number of rays needed to create a clear final image. RT cores and Tensor cores do completely different tasks.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.