Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-11-18, 02:10 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,009
AMD doubles the size of their per core L3 Cache in Zen 2 "Rome" processors

Will the same apply to desktop Zen 2 CPUs?



Read more about AMD's Zen 2 EPYC CPUs featuring up to 256MB of L3 Cache.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-11-18, 02:25 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,877
I hope so. More cache always made for a faster CPU. Mind you it's quite expensive (unless things have changed), so they may keep it to the server stuff only which is understandable
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-11-18, 04:51 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,288
I don't think so. Cache is huge and there won't be enough die space on the desktop version. Possibly threadripper 2 I could believe and see that happening
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.