Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-11-18, 01:07 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Fallout 76 latest patch adds performance and stability improvements to the game

This patch should address the game's hitching issues on all platforms.



Read more about Fallout 76's latest B.E.T.A patch.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-18, 02:06 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,413
Honestly I really enjoyed my first B.E.T.A run the other night and it felt good there is a slight player/enemy balance required and maybe some currency fixes here and there but it's all good.

As for the Ultra wide, FPS and FOV stuff it's all there in the .ini files it's just not available in game yet. I had it running at 1080, 1440 and 4K using Fast Sync and saw well above 130fps almost constantly. My only gripe was the over use of the depth of field blur, I found it over powering and it caused me to pause a moment while my eyes had to refocus to catch up with what was happening on screen. I am however really looking forward to the 14th.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-18, 02:47 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Honestly I really enjoyed my first B.E.T.A run the other night and it felt good there is a slight player/enemy balance required and maybe some currency fixes here and there but it's all good.

As for the Ultra wide, FPS and FOV stuff it's all there in the .ini files it's just not available in game yet. I had it running at 1080, 1440 and 4K using Fast Sync and saw well above 130fps almost constantly. My only gripe was the over use of the depth of field blur, I found it over powering and it caused me to pause a moment while my eyes had to refocus to catch up with what was happening on screen. I am however really looking forward to the 14th.
Quick Question. Is the game speed affected by framerate like Fallout 4? I remember that game messing up quite badly at 100+ FPS.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-18, 02:55 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,304
I won't be playing it any time soon (even though GAME relieved my bank account to the tune of £174.99 this morning) so I'm not in any hurry.

TBH? the first 8 months of FO4 should be erased from history. It is *so* much better now than it was at launch.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-18, 03:14 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I won't be playing it any time soon (even though GAME relieved my bank account to the tune of £174.99 this morning) so I'm not in any hurry.

TBH? the first 8 months of FO4 should be erased from history. It is *so* much better now than it was at launch.
It still needs a ton of mods to not suck though. Good game in stock form though, just not a GREAT game.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-18, 03:22 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Quick Question. Is the game speed affected by framerate like Fallout 4? I remember that game messing up quite badly at 100+ FPS.
Yea. It still has the same bug.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-18, 03:45 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,304
Yeah apparently you can cheat with higher FPS.

That is partially why I am in no hurry to install and or play it. I would also prefer private servers so I can just mooch around the enormous new world. Walking sim, if you will.

Bart - yeah I admit I do use all of the Gameworks crap on the PC. And when the game launched there literally wasn't a single card capable of taking it on at 4k. My Fury X struggled really badly and it wasn't until the XP came along that the game was OK. It's still not the best looking game ever but at 4k and nice and smooth it's a good experience.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-18, 04:15 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Quick Question. Is the game speed affected by framerate like Fallout 4? I remember that game messing up quite badly at 100+ FPS.
Yes it is, and it can be hacked by a simple change of the .ini

They promise to fix this by launch however. But since they have done a terrible coding mistake something you expect 10 years ago, its bound to be reversable allowing the hack to return. It's linked to the engine so I don't think its a permanent solution.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-18, 04:39 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yeah apparently you can cheat with higher FPS.

That is partially why I am in no hurry to install and or play it. I would also prefer private servers so I can just mooch around the enormous new world. Walking sim, if you will.

Bart - yeah I admit I do use all of the Gameworks crap on the PC. And when the game launched there literally wasn't a single card capable of taking it on at 4k. My Fury X struggled really badly and it wasn't until the XP came along that the game was OK. It's still not the best looking game ever but at 4k and nice and smooth it's a good experience.
Oh I know dude. I was playing in native 4K res (none of that up-jumped scaling silliness), with a pair of GTX980s while modded. It played fairly well for me, but there were 'painful' areas that caused grief at times. I never found it unplayable though, just a touch 'stuttery' in certain game areas. Considering I was modded, and only had 4GB of VRAM, I was kind of impressed considering the circumstances.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-18, 05:40 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,413
I'll have more info in 20 minutes when the BETA goes live again.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.