Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-09-18, 02:12 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,804
AMD's Athlon 200GE is now available in the UK

Not a bad CPU for £49.99.



Read more about AMD's Athlon 200GE becoming available in the UK.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-09-18, 04:57 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,127
That would make a great CPU for a home server, I'm tempted
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-09-18, 06:20 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
That would make a great CPU for a home server, I'm tempted
My thoughts exactly.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-09-18, 12:27 AM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Look Under Your Bed
Posts: 883
Would upgrade the little Athlon 5350 in my server. But that would require a new motherboard and RAM [sigh]


From what I've seen though, those little AM1 APUs are hard to come by now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-09-18, 10:03 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Would upgrade the little Athlon 5350 in my server. But that would require a new motherboard and RAM [sigh]


From what I've seen though, those little AM1 APUs are hard to come by now
It is a shame that nothing ever really happened with AM1. Strange to think that today's consoles are still using Jaguar CPU cores, albeit eight of them.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-09-18, 03:08 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Look Under Your Bed
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
It is a shame that nothing ever really happened with AM1. Strange to think that today's consoles are still using Jaguar CPU cores, albeit eight of them.
Aye. Given the size of AM1, it would have been a great alternative to Intel's NUC. Seems strange about consoles but they've been around for nearly 5 years now. Imagine if they used the FX Piledriver arch, thermal output could power the console
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-09-18, 03:24 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Aye. Given the size of AM1, it would have been a great alternative to Intel's NUC. Seems strange about consoles but they've been around for nearly 5 years now. Imagine if they used the FX Piledriver arch, thermal output could power the console
It was definately something that made sense at the time, as it beat the PS3/Xbox 360 and going with Bulldozer cores would have meant more heat, bigger coolers and higher wattage PSUs, all of which would increase the cost of the consoles.

The fans on an Original PS4 can already get plenty loud, hell, even my PS4 Pro can get fairly loud depending on the game.

It will be interesting to see how the Sony/MS go with the PS5 and Xbox Next (2?), as Zen makes a lot of sense. Stronger per-thread performance would be great for future games, but going for eight cores again would make for a fairly big die when combined with a big GPU.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-09-18, 03:49 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Look Under Your Bed
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
It was definately something that made sense at the time, as it beat the PS3/Xbox 360 and going with Bulldozer cores would have meant more heat, bigger coolers and higher wattage PSUs, all of which would increase the cost of the consoles.

The fans on an Original PS4 can already get plenty loud, hell, even my PS4 Pro can get fairly loud depending on the game.

It will be interesting to see how the Sony/MS go with the PS5 and Xbox Next (2?), as Zen makes a lot of sense. Stronger per-thread performance would be great for future games, but going for eight cores again would make for a fairly big die when combined with a big GPU.
Well, the way I see it, doing a Zen 2 quad core would easily smash current console performance, but I'd say a hexa core would be the sweet spot for size, cost and longetivity. 8 core would make sense for a Pro model but that's about it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-09-18, 04:15 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Well, the way I see it, doing a Zen 2 quad core would easily smash current console performance, but I'd say a hexa core would be the sweet spot for size, cost and longetivity. 8 core would make sense for a Pro model but that's about it.
It all depends on how they plan to implement backwards compatibility. Backwards compatibility is currently a killer feature on Xbox One, especially on the X, so I think Microsoft will be considering an 8-core.

Perhaps Xbox One backwards compatibility could be done on a quad-core eight thread CPU, but at the same time developers will want the new consoles to offer more CPU power.

Remember back in the early days of Xbox 360 and PS3, where games experimented with in-depth physics in titles like Far Cry 2. Today devs are somewhat CPU constrained on consoles, so higher-end hardware would be good for them. It would be nice to see things pushed on the CPU front a little, rather than rely solely on the GPU for innovation.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-09-18, 05:14 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,568
Well you always want to be GPU bound. That's the goal at least. It's much easier to work on and has less restrictions to game play.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.