Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-07-18, 05:50 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,198
Apple fixes 2018 MacBook Pro thermal throttling issues with firmware update

I wonder how this fix will impact thermals and produce more fan noise.



Read more about Apple's firmware fix for their 2018 MacBook Pro thermal throttling issues.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-07-18, 05:58 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 858
It's almost certainly adjusting the CPU power limit, which used to be the Intel default value, which exceeded what VRM could handle.

Reddit thread on a fix a user came up with.

With the core counts going up I suspect the thermal capacity and VRMs of a device becomes just as important a stat as the CPU it contains - since newer CPUs are designed to adapt to worse thermals. Case in point on desktop side is i7 8700, which in some OEM builds has a base clock of 2.2GHz. It can Turbo much higher, but if thermals or VRMs aren't up to snuff, well there we go.

And since Intel's chips already run hot when you "overclock" them to the max single core boost clock across all cores, I guess CPUs with 8+ cores will not be feasibly overclocked without delid solely due to thermal concerns. Low base clock with high single core boost is a disappointing direction.
__________________
i7 8700k 4.9GHz - 2x8Gb 3600MHz CL15-15-15-34 - GTX 970 - 512GB 850 EVO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-07-18, 07:19 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,953
Well at least they have, or at least were able, to do *something*. It was not acceptable, not by any means.

Thing is, if people really are using these things in place of desktops (and they are, the new mac pro thing is stupid and breaks down a lot) then they really need to be up to the task. IDK why they don't get serious, and make them a bit heavier and able to cool themselves. Serious video editors wouldn't give a crap IMO. Especially if they were getting their work done faster.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-07-18, 05:05 AM
Peace Ð Peace Ð is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
It's almost certainly adjusting the CPU power limit
We're talking about decreasing overall performance here, as well, right?
__________________
i7-4770K | Alpenföhn Matterhorn Pure | ASUS Z87-Pro | 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP | ASUS GTX1070 Strix OC 8GB | Corsair TX650M | Thermaltake Chaser A31
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-07-18, 06:35 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace Ð View Post
We're talking about decreasing overall performance here, as well, right?
If it doesn't throttle as much under heavy load no. That's what the vague answer they gave suggest they did.

More testing needs to be done to conclude.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-07-18, 08:07 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 629
Well a fix only has to fix the issue at hand.
Next fix is to not put a laptop on your lap so as not to grill your testicles. Lol

Have a feeling this was a bodge job, needed a hardware fix (as it ran fine in a freezer) so the i9 was working exactly as Intel meant it to. Let's see how long it is before some of these start dying.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-07-18, 12:49 PM
Peace Ð Peace Ð is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
If it doesn't throttle as much under heavy load no. That's what the vague answer they gave suggest they did.

More testing needs to be done to conclude.
Yeah, but how do you get it to not throttle as much? I, as a non-overclocker, would think you have to either decrease the voltages or set up different thermal parameters so it either throttles later (which seems impossible) or has a higher acceptable limit of throttling (which seems not so healthy for the silicon).

Decreasing the voltages should usually result in less performance. I mean, we're not talking about that magical AMD GPU that performed better under lower volts.
__________________
i7-4770K | Alpenföhn Matterhorn Pure | ASUS Z87-Pro | 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP | ASUS GTX1070 Strix OC 8GB | Corsair TX650M | Thermaltake Chaser A31
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-07-18, 01:00 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,953
According to Apple it was an instruction in the BIOS causing it. As yet I have not seen any one actually test the laptop again.

We will see. Lowering the volts does not necessarily mean you will lose performance, it may just allow the CPU to run at the same clocks on lower voltages, thus run cooler.

Again though, we shall see when some one tests it.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.