Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-06-18, 03:53 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Intel to launch 8-core Coffee Lake Refresh CPUs in September - Report

8-cores for LGA 1151 and a 22 core for X299?



Read more about Intel's rumoured 8-core Coffee Lake Refresh release date.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-06-18, 05:07 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,059
Going to run even hotter and therefore be slower as you won't be able to clock as high
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-06-18, 05:35 PM
Giggyolly Giggyolly is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 71
If that gets anywhere near 5Ghz, I will be impressed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-06-18, 05:51 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
I'd be impressed if this thing didn't require yet another new and buggy platform to run on.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-06-18, 05:57 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BlondesVille
Posts: 12,647
It's a shame the 8 core CF will require a brand new motherboard even though it will be just an 8 core 8700K, If Intel had any sense they'd let Z370 owners drop it in to steal some of AMD's multi gen socket thunder.
__________________
=AMD Ryzen 2700X @ 4.20GHz 8C/16T - Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero WiFi X470 AM4=
=Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB 3600MHz 2x8GB - Corsair H150i Pro + 6 x Corsair HDRGB 120mm=
=Corsair Crystal 570X Red + 3 x Corsair HDRGB 120mm - Corsair Link Commander Pro=
=Asus ROG Strix Vega 64 @ 1600/1000 - Asus ROG Strix XG35VQ 35" Ultrawide 100Hz Freesync=
=Creative SoundBlaster X AE-5 - Beyerdynamic 770/990/1770/1990 - 250 Ohm=
=Asus ROG Spatha - Asus ROG Claymore "100%" Cherry MX Blue - Asus ROG Sheath=
=Steam - Dicehunter = Origin - Dicehunter = Uplay - DicehunterUPLAY=

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-06-18, 08:15 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I'd be impressed if this thing didn't require yet another new and buggy platform to run on.
Well, Devil's Canyon didn't so there is hope. :P
__________________
i7 8700k 4.9GHz - 2x8Gb 3600MHz CL15-15-15-34 - GTX 970 - 512GB 850 EVO
<3 Linux, DXVK and 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-06-18, 08:31 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,004
They just need to solder them. And no overheating... Delided 8700Ks are running fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-06-18, 08:58 AM
fadingfool fadingfool is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 30
My AIO struggles to keep my 7820X cool at 4.5-4.7 OC so the prospect of dropping 22 cores into the same set up doesn't bode well for clock speeds. Unless I get hold of one of those chiller units Tom highlighted at Computex (I've got a 1500W PSU that should be enough right?).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-06-18, 09:16 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fadingfool View Post
My AIO struggles to keep my 7820X cool at 4.5-4.7 OC so the prospect of dropping 22 cores into the same set up doesn't bode well for clock speeds. Unless I get hold of one of those chiller units Tom highlighted at Computex (I've got a 1500W PSU that should be enough right?).
Well there is an added cost on HEDT CPUs. And that is cooling. They are hot. Why? Who cares... They just are. If you want to overclock you need to invest in cooling. Custom water cooling loop would solve all that. Maybe the next release of revised CPUs will do better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.