Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-05-18, 02:11 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 12,316
AMD's Ryzen PRO Desktop and Mobile processors adopted by HP, Lenovo and Dell

AMD's Ryzen PRO Desktop and Mobile processors adopted by the three largest PC OEMs; HP, Lenovo and Dell.



Read more about AMD's Ryzen PRO Desktop and mobile APUs being adopted by Dell, HP and Lenovo.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-05-18, 02:35 PM
Giggyolly Giggyolly is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 42
But no business users are willing to buy AMD, Intel mindshare is too great. At least in Desktop.
Ryzen Pro 1 was available to OEMs but didn't do well.

AMD need to develop consumer mindset first
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-05-18, 04:14 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giggyolly View Post
But no business users are willing to buy AMD, Intel mindshare is too great. At least in Desktop.
Ryzen Pro 1 was available to OEMs but didn't do well.

AMD need to develop consumer mindset first
This is very true, the business is going to asking why should we switch? Seems like a risk. The only way to counter it is to to sell them cheap. Businesses are run by accountants. If it saves them money and does the same thing, it'll seem like the best thing since funnelling funds through tax havens
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-18, 04:27 PM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giggyolly View Post
But no business users are willing to buy AMD, Intel mindshare is too great. At least in Desktop.
Ryzen Pro 1 was available to OEMs but didn't do well.

AMD need to develop consumer mindset first
So true. I'm in the process of requesting an upgrade at work as my i3-3220 really isn't cutting it anymore, not to mention the slow as balls 5400RPM hard-drive. I considered sourcing an i7-3770 to save the company the cost of a platform upgrade but they're like hens teeth these days; I would've paired it up with £30 SSD and slaved the current 500GB HDD. Would've made a cheap upgrade.

The IT company we employ are recommending a quad-core i5 build, but I know for the same price I could get a Ryzen 5 hex-core with a far higher multi-threaded performance which would benefit my workflow. I know this because I own one in my rig at home and when I work from home my output is higher.

Of course when I suggested this I was laughed off as "not knowing anything" because I am "only an enthusiast" and that I "don't know how business works". My boss said "when you run your own IT consultancy company you can recommend what you like to your clients".

They're so brainwashed by Intel after the FX Series debacle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-05-18, 05:17 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,084
I work for the government, and we are all rocking A4-5300B APUs here courtesy of HP. I see a big market for these.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-05-18, 05:21 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 14,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davva2004 View Post
I work for the government, and we are all rocking A4-5300B APUs here courtesy of HP. I see a big market for these.
Explains why y'all take forever... No offense to you
__________________
Pickles are cucumbers soaked in evil
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-05-18, 07:56 AM
Giggyolly Giggyolly is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonking View Post
This is very true, the business is going to asking why should we switch? Seems like a risk. The only way to counter it is to to sell them cheap. Businesses are run by accountants. If it saves them money and does the same thing, it'll seem like the best thing since funnelling funds through tax havens
Seriously, I've seen what should be £700-800 HP Ryzen Pro EliteDesks being shipped at less than half of that price by distribution, simply because they can't shift them.

I mean they are doing the right thing, cementing themselves as a serious performance option, AMD just needs to keep it going for a few more years so the businesses pick up interest.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-05-18, 10:56 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 413
Biggest problem in my experience of the pro industry is the software vendors certified hardware lists. In order for a business to get support from the software vendors, they have to rigidly stick to the certified hardware only. Any deviation from this and you get no support.

A prime example of this is avid, who only certify intel cpus and mainly nvidia quadros. Pretty sure autodesk is similar.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP
MS Intellimouse ⁞⁞ Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-05-18, 11:56 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 12,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
Biggest problem in my experience of the pro industry is the software vendors certified hardware lists. In order for a business to get support from the software vendors, they have to rigidly stick to the certified hardware only. Any deviation from this and you get no support.

A prime example of this is avid, who only certify intel cpus and mainly nvidia quadros. Pretty sure autodesk is similar.
I'm pretty sure Autodesk has tonnes of FirePro cards on their supported hardware lists. I know my Uni mostly used FirePro cards on their engineering workstations (which were new when I started uni).

My Uni did mostly work in Solidworks though.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.