Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-04-18, 01:53 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,589
Intel documentation confirms the existence of Z390 and X399 chipsets

Intel documentation confirms the existence of Z390 and X399 chipsets. Wait! Doesn't AMD already have an X399 chipset?




Thanks to TheF3ARChannel for the info.

Read more about Intel's Z390 and X399 chipsets.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-04-18, 02:06 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,241
Lesson one - mass confusion.

/slow clap.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-04-18, 02:14 PM
rfarmer rfarmer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Well nice to know that my Z370 motherboard is absolutely worthless for anything besides Coffee Lake, way to go Intel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-04-18, 02:27 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfarmer View Post
Well nice to know that my Z370 motherboard is absolutely worthless for anything besides Coffee Lake, way to go Intel.
That much was completely obvious before Z370 even launched. Z390 was rumoured for this summer before Z370 boards were even on the shelves.

However, hopefully some Z370 boards (the ones with enough phases to cope with an 8 core) may work. I mean, there was some hacked bioses for Z270 to make CL work.

But yeah honestly if you didn't already know the next time you look at buying a PC have a think about it. Because AMD don't pull this crap, and you can go through several generations all on one board.

I really hoped Intel would can this crap and leave it out now that AMD have come back to the fight, but it seems not. It really, truly sucks. The problem is Intel value their chipsets very highly and make tons of cash out of those *as well* as the CPUs. So it's obvious why they do it, but that doesn't make it suck any less.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-04-18, 02:37 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,071
While I love seeing new tech, Intel really need to stop pulling this new socket crap when they really don't have to, More people would buy Intel if they knew they had an upgrade path.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-04-18, 03:01 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
While I love seeing new tech, Intel really need to stop pulling this new socket crap when they really don't have to, More people would buy Intel if they knew they had an upgrade path.
They do it for several reasons, but all of them have the same goal - making cash.

Not only do they sell their chipsets (for a lot more money than AMD do..) but they also require a license for you to use the socket which also costs money.

That is why they fell out with Nvidia, copped the nark and said "No more sockets for you".
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-04-18, 03:45 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfarmer View Post
Well nice to know that my Z370 motherboard is absolutely worthless for anything besides Coffee Lake, way to go Intel.
Nowhere does it say that so hold on to your horses our boards should be good for ICL too, hypothetically...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-04-18, 03:46 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Lesson one - mass confusion.

/slow clap.
To be fair, Intel had the name already in the works forever and it was AMD that decided to be a rooster. Surely Intel will change theirs now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-04-18, 04:40 PM
russler russler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 158
Please dont be another socket, if im being totally honest I wish tech (primarily cpus) would slow down a little, its been kinda nice with gpus knowing it isnt going to be old news 6 months later, it almost justifies the price tags.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-04-18, 06:53 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by russler View Post
Please dont be another socket, if im being totally honest I wish tech (primarily cpus) would slow down a little, its been kinda nice with gpus knowing it isnt going to be old news 6 months later, it almost justifies the price tags.
I agree with this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.