Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-04-18, 01:12 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,719
ASUS ROG X470 Crosshair VII Hero Review



The wait is over as we can finally reveal the performance of the Ryzen 7 2700X in combination with the X470 Crosshair VII Hero.


ASUS ROG X470 Crosshair VII Hero Review

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-04-18, 01:57 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,837
Truly beautiful. Hopefully it will improve bios wise
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-04-18, 05:13 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,885
The previous gen Hero VI STILL needs bios work, so I have little hope for this one.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-04-18, 07:55 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 3,928
Little off topic but an annoyance for me in my future purchase.

@ TTL

Can you or anyone explain why RoG boards only have one of these USB3.1 Gen1 headers where they have two for all of their other models from ASUS. May be a stupid question but I'd rather ask a stupid one than sit in wonder. Tried to google but couldnt find an answer.

It renders two of my cases usb front panel useless. It seems to be the same for the Z370 rog boards also
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rog_board.jpg
Views:	651
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	12401  
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-04-18, 11:55 AM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,519
BitWit on YouTube found virtually no performance difference between an ASUS X370 board and an ASUS X470 board with a 2600X. Even both motherboards worked with 3400Mhz memory.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-04-18, 12:16 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
BitWit on YouTube found virtually no performance difference between an ASUS X370 board and an ASUS X470 board with a 2600X. Even both motherboards worked with 3400Mhz memory.
I would imagine the memory speeds are the CPU itself having improved.

I know I will sound like a cracked record here, but Ryzen *was* pretty badly flawed. The good news is AMD can now spend time improving it tenfold.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-04-18, 12:31 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I would imagine the memory speeds are the CPU itself having improved.

I know I will sound like a cracked record here, but Ryzen *was* pretty badly flawed. The good news is AMD can now spend time improving it tenfold.
Which I think is better. If it's all the chipset, we'd need to buy new motherboards as well as new CPUs, which would defeat one of the biggest draws of the Zen platform—future proofing. Now when I have some money, I can drop in a 2700X and go from 6c/12t at 4Ghz to 8c/16t at 4.2-4.3Ghz, with the same memory and same motherboard.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-04-18, 01:33 AM
Zinc64 Zinc64 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
NVMe RAID?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-04-18, 11:01 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Which I think is better. If it's all the chipset, we'd need to buy new motherboards as well as new CPUs, which would defeat one of the biggest draws of the Zen platform—future proofing. Now when I have some money, I can drop in a 2700X and go from 6c/12t at 4Ghz to 8c/16t at 4.2-4.3Ghz, with the same memory and same motherboard.
Yup. I read yesterday (may have been on here) that AMD are going to enable XFR2? or whatever it's called on 370. Which is pretty darn awesome really.

I always loved my AM2 and AM3 boards for that. Always plenty to look forward to. I could have gone from a single core Sempron to a 6 core Phenom 2.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-04-18, 11:29 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yup. I read yesterday (may have been on here) that AMD are going to enable XFR2? or whatever it's called on 370. Which is pretty darn awesome really.

I always loved my AM2 and AM3 boards for that. Always plenty to look forward to. I could have gone from a single core Sempron to a 6 core Phenom 2.

I think thats up to the board manufacturers to implement
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.