Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-18, 04:32 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,261
MSI updates their AM4 lineup to support Raven Ridge

Every MSI AM4 motherboard has a bios update for AGESA version 1.1.0.1



Read more about MSI's AM4 Raven Ridge supporting BIOS updates.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-18, 08:18 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 15,866
New CPUs come out in April. So it's nice to see MSI are already on top of it hopefully that means we have good support and no bugs on launch day unlike last launch
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-18, 08:23 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
New CPUs come out in April. So it's nice to see MSI are already on top of it hopefully that means we have good support and no bugs on launch day unlike last launch
These updates are for Raven Ridge, which launches next week.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-18, 08:55 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 15,866
Yeah my bad. I keep getting confused which codename represents which product. So many these days
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-18, 04:59 PM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,232
Is there a way to flash the bios on an AM4 board if the your raven ridge CPU is unsupported by the current bios?

So say you buy a new AM4 board and raven ridge CPU, but the current bios version on the board doesn't support the new CPU, is there an easy way to update the bios if you don't have a supported CPU?
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-18, 05:21 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 15,866
Some boards you can just plug in a USB drive into a specific port and it will flash it. Not all boards have it..

You could go in to a shop and ask them to flash it or borrow a CPU so you can flash it too
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-18, 07:18 AM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheroo View Post
Is there a way to flash the bios on an AM4 board if the your raven ridge CPU is unsupported by the current bios?

So say you buy a new AM4 board and raven ridge CPU, but the current bios version on the board doesn't support the new CPU, is there an easy way to update the bios if you don't have a supported CPU?
If I personally was going to buy a new board I would contact the etailer to make sure it came with the latest bios installed
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-18, 10:17 PM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,232
I still think it'll catch quite a few people out...
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-18, 11:54 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Some boards you can just plug in a USB drive into a specific port and it will flash it. Not all boards have it
Which is a travesty in this day and age. That's a feature that should be utilized on all motherboards considering the potential importance of BIOS updates.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.