Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-17, 06:50 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,791
Assassin's Creed: Origins PC Performance Review

After the series' two-year hiatus has Ubisoft brought Assassin's Creed back into a Golden Era?



Read more on Assassin's Creed: Origin's PC performance.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-17, 08:11 PM
stealth80 stealth80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 49
Apparently the horrible CPU usage is caused by UBI doubling up on DRM. Pretty shady move imo passing the buck to the consumer by upping the game requirements, rather than, stopping piracy themselves
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-17, 08:29 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,310
I see you are saving Wolfenstein for last
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-17, 11:03 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
Apparently the horrible CPU usage is caused by UBI doubling up on DRM. Pretty shady move imo passing the buck to the consumer by upping the game requirements, rather than, stopping piracy themselves
DRM has virtually no impact on performance. DRM runs at launch. It would only extend loading times if that.

Something like Punkbuster(older BF games) could cause performance issues. But that is because it runs in real-time and is constantly on your internet connection. Anti cheat software like this can cause an impact. DRM won't. I'm sure there is some crap DRM out there that will. But reality is any big AAA company or half caring indie Dev would use a good DRM.
The performance issues is simply due to optimization
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-10-17, 02:20 AM
stealth80 stealth80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
DRM has virtually no impact on performance. DRM runs at launch. It would only extend loading times if that.

Something like Punkbuster(older BF games) could cause performance issues. But that is because it runs in real-time and is constantly on your internet connection. Anti cheat software like this can cause an impact. DRM won't. I'm sure there is some crap DRM out there that will. But reality is any big AAA company or half caring indie Dev would use a good DRM.
The performance issues is simply due to optimization
http://www.overclock.net/t/1641044/t...rs-gamers-cpus

I don't know
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-10-17, 07:07 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
Nothing in that thread shows anything truthful. Just people talking about a screenshot. The guy as far as I read who the shot came from isn't even in the thread. Lots of he said she said
But still, if Ubi is having their own DRM, which they have a right to, then performance issues are on them. Still, even a 8700k is only being used 50% according to a person in that thread. So it's not CPU bound.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-10-17, 02:47 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,022
I can imagine it's going to be a struggle for me to run this at 90 FPS High settings. Looks like a title I'll be putting on the backburner until hardware catches up.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-10-17, 08:12 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
I can imagine it's going to be a struggle for me to run this at 90 FPS High settings. Looks like a title I'll be putting on the backburner until hardware catches up.
I would just turn AA off. You'll gain a lot of performance
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-10-17, 08:34 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
I would just turn AA off. You'll gain a lot of performance
Have you been enjoying the game so far, assuming you've picked it up 'cause I know you're an AC fan and the game is getting good reviews?
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-10-17, 08:46 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Have you been enjoying the game so far, assuming you've picked it up 'cause I know you're an AC fan and the game is getting good reviews?
No I have actually been dealing with many bank problems lately. Had to get a new card because apparently my information was stolen at a Walmart( i can't remember the last time I ever went there) and they had my physical card with them(even though I have it in front of me) so for the past while I've not really been buying anything. Mostly because I don't have an active card on me and everything I buy is online soo.. yeah can't
I was going to get Origins and waited for it to come up on CDkeys but it was for EU only. So about right after that time was when my card issues arised so never got around to it. Fine with me I can wait till Christmas I am in no hurry I already have many games to play with so little time with school that it's kinda a blessing in disguise, if you could call it that.

edit: Right after posting this, my father just informed me he bought the physical disc on PS4. So I might go steal it and play on PS instead of PC
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.