Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-09-17, 05:24 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,386
Flashing an RX Vega 56 with a Vega 64 BIOS will not unlock additional shaders

Flashing an RX Vega 56 with a Vega 64 BIOS will not unlock additional shaders



Read more on on this GPU-Z issue here.

Apologies for the confusion, I accidentally made two threads on this and accidentally deleted both instead of merging them.

Special thanks to Tolemac for his post that told us that a new version of GPU-Z is out. The article has been updated to reflect this.

To answer NeverBackDown's question, this is referring to those who are claiming that some (not all) of the RX Vega 56's core were activated. These were misreading due to a GPU-Z error.

No new GPU cores are activated using a BIOS flash.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-17, 06:47 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,220
Oh ok gotcha.

AFAIK atm Vega 56 has cores lasered off, so it's impossible to activate them right now. It is more than likely due to yields. In the future after supply and yield rise, I am sure we will get a few cards than can unlock cores.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-17, 06:54 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Oh ok gotcha.

AFAIK atm Vega 56 has cores lasered off, so it's impossible to activate them right now. It is more than likely due to yields. In the future after supply and yield rise, I am sure we will get a few cards than can unlock cores.
It is unwise for AMD to leave things so that they can be unlocked like that, though I can see why people are trying it.

I just remember the days of CPU core unlocking on AM3 with the old Phenom II CPUs. Unlocking a dual-core black edition into a full quad core!
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-17, 06:56 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,220
Yeah AMD has quite a history of letting things these happen. It's why I said in the future possibly. Under new management though, who knows? I doubt it but I would certainly buy a 56 if I could unlock it to a 64
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.