Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-08-17, 11:17 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,069
AMD's Threadripper platform will reportedly not support NVMe RAID at launch

AMD plans on enabling this feature with future firmware revisions.



Read more on X399's lack of NVMe RAID support.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-17, 12:30 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 68
Quote:
With modern NVMe SSDs, especially on faster models, NVMe is almost unnecessary
quiz... replace one word with "RAID" to correct the sentence.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-17, 12:34 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 68
Quote:
with dual Samsung 960 Pro SSDs achieving speeds that are in excess of 5,000MB/s.
by the way

"....and god said those who use RAID 0 shall suffer data loss and grieve.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-17, 12:37 PM
Bridges Bridges is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
I would like to see OC3D do some testing on NVMe Raid 0 to see if the difference is appreciable, even if it's a more casual thing like the old multi-GPU vids.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-17, 02:14 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bridges View Post
I would like to see OC3D do some testing on NVMe Raid 0 to see if the difference is appreciable, even if it's a more casual thing like the old multi-GPU vids.
Its hard to get drives - all our NVME drives have full OS and testing suites on them. We actually have an M.2 NVME and a 2.5" SSD for every platform.

SSD are actually pretty difficult to get enough of let alone have spares blank for stuff like this.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-17, 03:55 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,619
Wouldn't bother me personally.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-17, 06:52 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,251
I don't really see the point of raiding nvme drives, it wont make windows any faster if you boot of it, and almost nothing in the consumer market will utilize the speed of such a setup to 100%
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-17, 07:04 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Its hard to get drives - all our NVME drives have full OS and testing suites on them. We actually have an M.2 NVME and a 2.5" SSD for every platform.

SSD are actually pretty difficult to get enough of let alone have spares blank for stuff like this.
Raid 0 is NOT raid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-17, 11:11 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 7,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdayzzz View Post
Raid 0 is NOT raid.
Is it not? Forgive me for asking but isn't RAID or Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks when in RAID still RAID..

You get the full benefits including performance gains of RAID 0, which is striping drives or doubling your capacity across drives (merging the total capacity of all drives) the only problem is if one of the drives fails you lose the lot.

It's still RAID.
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-17, 11:13 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 896
Eh, that is what a NAS is for.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.