Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-08-17, 05:07 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,622
Retail staff reports high levels of mining performance on AMD's RX Vega

This is not good news for gamers...



Read more on Vega's rumoured mining performance.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-17, 05:10 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,631
Not a good start for anyone at launch but just think about the lovely cheap abused cards that'll be going in a few months time when the currency crashes.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-17, 05:19 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Not a good start for anyone at launch but just think about the lovely cheap abused cards that'll be going in a few months time when the currency crashes.
I think we should get TTL towers mining so that the crash happens sooner.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-17, 05:27 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Not a good start for anyone at launch but just think about the lovely cheap abused cards that'll be going in a few months time when the currency crashes.
On that note, is there any evidence that mining is actually harmful?

To me it doesn't sound too logical, since if anything, they'll be running at a stable temperature, avoiding any wear from thermal expansion and contraction.

And of course miners have the incentive to not let them thermal throttle either.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-17, 05:54 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
On that note, is there any evidence that mining is actually harmful?

To me it doesn't sound too logical, since if anything, they'll be running at a stable temperature, avoiding any wear from thermal expansion and contraction.

And of course miners have the incentive to not let them thermal throttle either.
It is harmful, trust me. It's not just that the card is running 100% all of the time it's also moisture in the air. I have seen ex mining cards and they make nothing. Seen 290s sell for £40 because they squealed and the solder joints had turned white from going dry. All that heat cooks the flux and makes it dry out and harden etc. The black PCB had gone white too.

So yeah, it buggers hardware. Well, not so much the hardware but the components. When Nvidia and AMD design VRMs they do not design them to run at 100% all of the time. Even when gaming your GPU gets a few breaks from cut scenes/loading etc.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-17, 06:13 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,568
Definitely ruins hardware


So i guess AMD were right. They delayed the launch to prevent the mining crowd from destroying there launch. Gave them even more time for stock buildup but it probably won't help. Miners will no doubt gobble these up. I just hope some gamers get some.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-17, 06:18 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,424
Does mining require more RAM? I heard it was sensitive to ram SPEED, but what about ram AMOUNT? Just wondering if AMD could release some lower ram models, like 4GB for the mining crowd?
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-17, 06:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Does mining require more RAM? I heard it was sensitive to ram SPEED, but what about ram AMOUNT? Just wondering if AMD could release some lower ram models, like 4GB for the mining crowd?
The Fury X would not have been making £400 recently if that were the case. I'd have sold mine, but what would I have got? a 1070? not worth the hassle lol.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-17, 06:45 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 670
I have said it before It's AMD and the power companies that have invented crypto currencies
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-17, 06:48 PM
Bob_Kelso Bob_Kelso is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 18
This is really bad news. State the obvious I know but damn it I've been so long.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.