Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-08-17, 04:09 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,069
ASRock confirms that Coffee Lake will not be supported by existing Intel motherboards

"No, Coffee Lake CPU is not compatible with 200 series motherboards."



Read more on ASRock's confirmation that Coffee Lake will require a new generation of motherboards.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-17, 04:46 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,848
Quote:
With Coffee Lake being rumoured to release before the end of 2017, it looks like Intel's current generation 200-series/Kaky Lake platform will be released and replaced within a year, a move that will no doubt annoy Intel fans.
^ This right here. Nothing more but a real d*ck move by Intel really.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-17, 04:47 PM
Agost's Avatar
Agost Agost is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 525
I got a Z170 Extreme 7+ for longevity

Well, when my 6700K will be aging, I'll definitely go for AMD CPUs.
__________________
On a mote of dust, suspended in a sunbeam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-17, 05:22 PM
Fetchez La Vache Fetchez La Vache is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 136
I'm guessing this was the bomb Tom was going to drop.
__________________
Enjoys granola, beard enthusiast, once owned a 780Ti for a day.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-17, 05:49 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,982
Not surprised at all. What did you expect from them
__________________
“For even the very wise cannot see all ends.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-17, 05:52 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 7,721
lmao what douchebags.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-17, 05:54 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,198
Nothing new here, already been preaching this since the beginning. Oh well, fine by me.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 | Intel i5-6600K 4.6GHz | Corsair H105 | Corsair Vengeance LPX 3GHz CL15 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix A8G | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-17, 06:11 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 68
after a decade of "intel only" i changed my mainsytem to a RYZEN.

i earn money with my computers so stability is most important for me.
beside my main job i do freelance works as designer and 3d viz for architects.

i was very concerned about RYZENS stability and possible issues with windows etc.

but i was thinking i use it for a month or two as a second system and see how it behaves.

but after 3 weeks i moved all data from my old mainsytem to the RYZEN system.

what can i say... i have no major issues, windows runs fine, stability is great.
knock on wood... im very happy with this AMD system.

i thought i may get a coffee lake 6 core for my Z270 board.
but this is typical intel. only thing is.... now i have an alternative.

so i guess system after system i will upgrade my PC´s to AMD RYZEN.
a threadripper is already planned for christmas.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-17, 06:27 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 11,481
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
One of the main reasons I switched over to Ryzen, AMD are supporting the AM4 socket until 2020 so we can rest assured Zen+ and Zen2 will be sable to be dropped into existing AM4 mobos.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-17, 06:40 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 7,721
Yeah it was a slightly bumpy start but Ryzen is pretty much sorted now. Hynix A-die up to 3000, Samsung B-die 3200+ and you should be BSOD free
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.