Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-07-17, 09:07 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,301
How to install an X399 CPU

It is a little more complicated than typical CPU/socket designs.



Read more on AMD's TR4 CPU socket.

Special Thanks to AlienALX for bringing this video to our attention.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-07-17, 10:03 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,094
I love the tray it comes in very clever.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-07-17, 12:47 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,018
I still think having such a large chip with 2 x dies disabled is somewhat stupid, They could have halved the size of the PCB and socket by just using 2 x fully working 8 core dies instead of using failed Epyc parts.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-07-17, 12:51 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I love the tray it comes in very clever.
I do too must say it surprised me
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=Corsair K95 RGB=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-07-17, 12:51 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I still think having such a large chip with 2 x dies disabled is somewhat stupid, They could have halved the size of the PCB and socket by just using 2 x fully working 8 core dies instead of using failed Epyc parts.
I can absolutely promise you we WILL see 32c 64t chips. I absolutely guarantee it. Then the socket would not be big enough dude.

It's like looking at X99 and then seeing a dual core Xeon ES for it. Seems dumb, but when you consider you can have up to 18 cores on that size die it makes sense.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-07-17, 05:49 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I still think having such a large chip with 2 x dies disabled is somewhat stupid, They could have halved the size of the PCB and socket by just using 2 x fully working 8 core dies instead of using failed Epyc parts.
It's not stupid at all

First off if they did what you asked for it would have cost way way more to make.
Secondly they are not using "failed parts". They are literally placeholders so they can keep the design the same to reduce costs. It's fake chips
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-07-17, 06:03 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
It's not stupid at all

First off if they did what you asked for it would have cost way way more to make.
Secondly they are not using "failed parts". They are literally placeholders so they can keep the design the same to reduce costs. It's fake chips
*Dalek voice*

AMD can do no wrong !
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-07-17, 07:56 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
*Dalek voice*

AMD can do no wrong !
I don't see why you would say that. It's quite literally from a business perspective the smart and cheaper way to do it. Why spend millions of extra dollars AMD doesn't have on something just to make it slightly smaller when it will function already?

If me telling you how business works makes me a AMD diehard fanboy then I guess I am one.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-07-17, 08:26 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,018
If they are using 2 fake dies or "placeholders" just to make up the space why not just make a smaller IHS and only use 2 x dies instead of 2 and 2 fake ones ? Seems like a waste of resources and probably wouldn't cost any more, Would also make cooling the thing easier from a cold plate perspective.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-07-17, 08:38 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
If they are using 2 fake dies or "placeholders" just to make up the space why not just make a smaller IHS and only use 2 x dies instead of 2 and 2 fake ones ? Seems like a waste of resources and probably wouldn't cost any more, Would also make cooling the thing easier from a cold plate perspective.
Because then you would have to completely redesign everything. Not just the CPU, the socket, the chipset, the OEM reference design, new engineer team to do all this, more months of preparation, aka. All more money for literally no difference. And where does AMD get this money from? Is it worth the cost? The time? The effort and almost 100% guarentee that it won't launch until late this year or even next? When Intel already has an 18 core out? Which means prices will be dropped for AMD which means all that extra money has earned them is actually less.

Business Dice. It makes no logical or common sense to do what you are asking for. You need to remember AMD didn't intend for X399. They simply made a HPC CPU, then realized this could be used for HEDT.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.