Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-07-17, 03:06 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,069
Threadripper has been dellided - Confirmed to be soldered

Der8auer did it so you won't have to.



Read more on AMD's Threadripper CPU.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-07-17, 05:02 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 409
So ryzen dies that cannot run with all 8 cores is put in TR to use as big a percentage of dies as possible? Or how does this work?
The size is just crazy looking forward to seeing the performance.
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-07-17, 05:17 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 7,721
IIRC each one of those things you see in there is a quad core unit. So there are four quad core units in the 16 core, for example. The 12 core will probably use three fully functional units. I doubt they will use failed units in TR, that's what the R3s are for.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-07-17, 05:28 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,982
They more than likely take failed cores. I don't think they would disable any. If people found a to go from 16 to 32 cores..... Yeah imagine how that's gonna go.

Or like WYP said, just only two active dies. Keeps costs down instead of having to redesign a new cpu
__________________
“For even the very wise cannot see all ends.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-07-17, 06:12 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 545
This brings back memories of unlocking Intel cores. And the boards actually marketed unlocking ability.

This could be their leftovers from EPYC CPUs, and i mean literally. I don't think AMD would go through all the fuss with putting, and soldering dead dies on PCB. I always thought that TR will be with all functioning dies but every die will have some of the cores dead. This makes things interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-07-17, 05:56 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,593
These are EPYC CPU's that are used as threadripper, Der8auer actually wondered if the cores could be reactivated so that you have a 32 core CPU again, and this also debunks Intels glued together rubbish too as there are 4 cores not 2 Ryzens glued together
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=Intel 5930K=MSI X99A Gaming Pro Carbon=32gig 2400Mhz GSkill Trident RGB= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=Corsair K95 RGB=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB=Corsair AX1200i=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Creative Soundblaster ZXR=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.