Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-07-17, 08:50 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,430
Samsung increases production of 8GB HBM2 memory chips

Samsung expects 8GB HBM2 to become 50% of their HBM2 production by the first half of 2018.



Read more on Samsung's 8GB HBM2 memory stacks.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-07-17, 11:07 AM
hdimitrov hdimitrov is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
Why is only Nvidia mentioned? What about the upcoming AMD RX Vega with HBM2?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-07-17, 11:19 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdimitrov View Post
Why is only Nvidia mentioned? What about the upcoming AMD RX Vega with HBM2?
Nvidia is known to be using Samsung's HBM2. At the time of writing AMD is only known to have used SK Hynix's HBM memory.

We don't know how this will affect AMD as we do not know if AMD uses Samsung as a supplier for HBM2.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-07-17, 12:48 PM
hdimitrov hdimitrov is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
Ahh yes. Makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-07-17, 04:49 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,278
I don't understand why AMD wouldn't use Samsung. They are far and away ahead of SkHynix.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-07-17, 06:08 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
I don't understand why AMD wouldn't use Samsung. They are far and away ahead of SkHynix.
More expensive maybe?...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-07-17, 07:56 PM
Kourgath223's Avatar
Kourgath223 Kourgath223 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
More expensive maybe?...
Considering AMD helped develop, or at least help fund, HBM alongside SK Hynix I wouldn't be surprised if they got some kind of discount when ordering from them but they would probably order from Samsung if SK can't keep up with demand, assuming of course there is enough demand to require AMD to look elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.