Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-07-17, 08:27 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,468
Viking releases a colossal 50TB 3.5-inch SSD

How big is too big?



Read more on Viking Technology's 50TB SSD.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-07-17, 08:33 AM
mb67's Avatar
mb67 mb67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 120
Download ALL the Things!
__________________
It might look like I'm not doing anything, but at the cellular level I'm really quite busy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-07-17, 08:33 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,708
Damn...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-07-17, 08:46 AM
Chopper3's Avatar
Chopper3 Chopper3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, Dorset
Posts: 186
That'd take at least 1.65 days to fill it.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i9-9900K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 M, Memory: 32 GB Corsair Vengence DDR4 3200Mhz, Graphics Card: Asus ROG 2080 ti, Hard Drive: Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, Case: Corsair Obsidian 350D, Power Supply: Corsair AX860i, CPU cooling: Corsair H115i Pro, OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Monitor: Asus ROG PG348Q 34" 21:9, Headphones: Logitech G35 3D, Keyboard: Corsair K95 RGB, Mouse: Razor Deathadder Chroma
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-07-17, 09:15 AM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 467
Is it weird that I want one? I would never fill it. But I want one!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-07-17, 09:45 AM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,070
Finally enough room for my uplay origin and steam library
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN 1500x, H100i GTX
MB: MSI TOMAHAWK ARCTIC
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-07-17, 11:50 AM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,243
I want 2 in RAID0, just so I can lose even *more* data!
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 32GB TridentZ RGB 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads / Barrow box reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-07-17, 01:58 PM
hdimitrov hdimitrov is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chopper3 View Post
That'd take at least 1.65 days to fill it.
Glad to see you accounted for the (dumb) units of storage manufacturers use otherwise it would have taken at least 1.73 days to fill. And nobody got time fo' that!

P.S. Seriously though why can't they use TiB, GiB and MiB... We lose 4.5TiB this way!
User: Hooray finally got my 50TB SSD!
Windows: Nope, that's 45.47TiB for you and not a MiB more!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.