Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-07-17, 06:49 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Ryzen 3's release date and specifications have been announced

Is this AMD's i3 killer?



Read more on AMD's Ryzen 3 lineup.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-07-17, 06:52 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 7,343
Meh still no prices. That makes me a sad panda

I think it's fair to say Intel may be retiring their I3 series quite soon, though.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




And they couldn't prevent Jack from being happy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-07-17, 06:56 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,376
Are they sticking to a single CCX with the Ryzen 3s?
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-07-17, 06:57 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Are they sticking to a single CCX with the Ryzen 3s?
The Ryzen 5 1400 sticks to a single CCX, so Ryzen 3 is expected to do the same.

In the Ryzen Pro 3 series, both CPUs are also listed with 8MB of L3 cache, which also supports the single CCX theory.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-07-17, 07:21 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
The Ryzen 5 1400 sticks to a single CCX, so Ryzen 3 is expected to do the same.

In the Ryzen Pro 3 series, both CPUs are also listed with 8MB of L3 cache, which also supports the single CCX theory.
You have proof of this? Because they said they are splitting cores across CCXs. 3 on one 3 on another. 2 on one etc.

Although I don't dispute Ryzen 3. They could just go to one ccx.
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-07-17, 08:59 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
You have proof of this? Because they said they are splitting cores across CCXs. 3 on one 3 on another. 2 on one etc.

Although I don't dispute Ryzen 3. They could just go to one ccx.
The R5 1400 only has 8MB of cache, CPUs that use two CCXs have 16MB.



1400 above, 1500X below.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-07-17, 09:31 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 311
If they can clock to above 4GHz they are gonna be killer gaming CPUs for people on a budget. If not they will still be good though.
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-07-17, 11:02 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
The R5 1400 only has 8MB of cache, CPUs that use two CCXs have 16MB.



1400 above, 1500X below.

After further research, I was right. Has nothing to do with cache. AMD simply disables the cache and cores. They are ONLY disabling pairs of cores. Core 3 and Core 7. Which is the last core on either CCX and in the case of the 1400, they also take out Core 2/6

http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-ryze...l-pairs_192827
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-07-17, 08:31 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
After further research, I was right. Has nothing to do with cache. AMD simply disables the cache and cores. They are ONLY disabling pairs of cores. Core 3 and Core 7. Which is the last core on either CCX and in the case of the 1400, they also take out Core 2/6

http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-ryze...l-pairs_192827
Yeah, you are right, as otherwise why would CPU-Z say 2x 4MB of L2 cache and not just 8MB.
Facepalm.

Now I just feel silly....
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.