Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-06-17, 02:55 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 11,333
Gigabyte reveals their MZ30-AR0 motherboard for AMD EPYC processors

Gigabyte reveals their MZ30-AR0 motherboard for AMD EPYC processors, offering 16 DDR4 memory slots and dual 10GbE ports.



Read more on Gigabyte's MZ30-AR0 motherboard.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-06-17, 03:09 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,347
...dat socket size...
__________________
Asus Z370 Maximus X Hero | Intel Core i7-8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Windows 10 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-06-17, 03:12 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 678
I am not sure how does Gigabyte think you can use PCI-E slots and bottom RAM slots at the same time...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-06-17, 03:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 9,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
I am not sure how does Gigabyte think you can use PCI-E slots and bottom RAM slots at the same time...
I'd use a ribbon. If I had a board/CPU like that I would want to show off my GPU/s.

TBH this sort of thing is not for us nor aimed at us really. Epyc is their new Opteron, and it was very rare that people used Optys in desktop builds unless it was ridiculous like the 140 was it? 90% overclock on air
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




If you ever ask me something and feel insulted by what I said back ask yourself this.. Would you rather I pretend and give you the answer that is expected, or, tell you how it really is?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-06-17, 03:42 PM
J-a-c-o-b J-a-c-o-b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire
Posts: 137
I'm definitely concerned about the bottom ram placement there, If this motherboard had a normal motherboard layout, this wouldn't be an issue, although I'm no server expert, so perhaps there is some international standard as to why the layout is like this. The socket size probably doesn't help.
__________________


Shelfuter - Computer in a Shelf
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-06-17, 05:07 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 14,054
That bandwidth tho
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-06-17, 05:28 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,259
No RGB. This sucks.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-06-17, 09:49 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 9,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
No RGB. This sucks.
I wanted to just do a to that but it wouldn't work.

8 out of 8 m8 I r8.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




If you ever ask me something and feel insulted by what I said back ask yourself this.. Would you rather I pretend and give you the answer that is expected, or, tell you how it really is?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-06-17, 08:10 AM
hdimitrov hdimitrov is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 26
Why is everyone so concerned about the DIMM/PCIe slots placement? Server/Workstation builds rarely employ multiple video cards. The bottom-most PCIe slot is free from all obstructions and the rest can be filled with SSDs/LAN-cards/etc. If you want multi-VGA you will get risers or get another board altogether. Remember this is niche not enthusiast/consumer product.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-06-17, 09:15 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdimitrov View Post
Why is everyone so concerned about the DIMM/PCIe slots placement? Server/Workstation builds rarely employ multiple video cards. The bottom-most PCIe slot is free from all obstructions and the rest can be filled with SSDs/LAN-cards/etc. If you want multi-VGA you will get risers or get another board altogether. Remember this is niche not enthusiast/consumer product.
Exactly. It's not like you're going to stick this in your average corsair case is it
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.