Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-06-17, 04:00 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,677
AMD has released a broad list of Ryzen compatible DDR4 memory modules

AMD has released a broad list of Ryzen compatible DDR4 memory modules, which AMD has verified to work at rates speeds with Ryzen CPUs at DCOP settings.



Read more on AMD's new Ryzen verified memory list.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-06-17, 05:08 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,562
Damn, they don't list kits over 3200mhz.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-06-17, 06:52 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Damn, they don't list kits over 3200mhz.
Some people have gotten 3800 kits to work, Just depends on the board.
__________________
=AMD Ryzen 9 - 3950X @ 4.20GHz - AMD RX 5700XT @ 2100/1800=

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-17, 06:56 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,562
It depends on things that no one in the universe understands, not even Asus. Might be the board, BIOS, AGESA code, the CPUs IMC, etc. No one knows for sure. A lot of us have trouble hitting 3600, even with quality RAM. Platform is still too immature for higher speed memory. I'll be happy with 3466 for now. AMD still has loads of work to do though.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-06-17, 07:30 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,831
I was always planning on picking up a Samsung B-Die memory module (Trident Z), but even at the stock 3200Mhz I worry it won't work. As Bartacus said, no one seems to know why for one it works and for another it doesn't.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-06-17, 08:28 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,562
Mine is Trident Z, 2x8GB single rank Samsung B-die, and rated for [email protected] On paper it's ideal Ryzen memory (high speed / low timings / b-die), but I can't get 3600 going for the life of me. But 3466 is close enough for me, at least until the next CH6 Hero bios update.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-06-17, 08:34 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Mine is Trident Z, 2x8GB single rank Samsung B-die, and rated for [email protected] On paper it's ideal Ryzen memory (high speed / low timings / b-die), but I can't get 3600 going for the life of me. But 3466 is close enough for me, at least until the next CH6 Hero bios update.
3466Mhz is still excellent. I feel like there is a diminishing return for the money and effort put in for 3600Mhz memory so I think I'll be happy with 3200Mhz.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-06-17, 08:40 PM
dwatterworth dwatterworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Rhode Island, United States.
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
It depends on things that no one in the universe understands, not even Asus. Might be the board, BIOS, AGESA code, the CPUs IMC, etc. No one knows for sure. A lot of us have trouble hitting 3600, even with quality RAM. Platform is still too immature for higher speed memory. I'll be happy with 3466 for now. AMD still has loads of work to do though.
Have you run that memory speed from the start on your machine or was it a progressive increase in speed with each bios update or something of the sort?
If so, could you tell me if you've noticed an increase in performance in daily computing / gaming and any possible workstation tasks?
Thank you for any insight you could provide!
__________________
3950X - Crosshair VIII Hero - 32GB 3200CL14 - (2) 500gb 970 Evo+ - PNY 1080ti - Seasonic X850 - Phanteks P600S - AC 420x45, AC 280x45 - VP755, Eisblock XPX, NeXXos GPX, Noctua PPC-2000's all around.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-06-17, 08:54 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwatterworth View Post
Have you run that memory speed from the start on your machine or was it a progressive increase in speed with each bios update or something of the sort?
If so, could you tell me if you've noticed an increase in performance in daily computing / gaming and any possible workstation tasks?
Thank you for any insight you could provide!
Nah, that 3466 only came about with a beta BIOS update, maybe 2 BIOS flashes ago. I think since the AGESA 1004 update.

As for performance, it's hard for me to measure since I game at 4K, so that eliminates the CPU pretty much, as all the hard work is done by the GPUs. I will say this: for benchmarks, it makes a difference. In gaming, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I wasn't gaming heavily with the system at first, since most of my time was spent learning the BIOS, what settings affect what, etc. At one point thoughh I was running Prey with everything stock (except a GPU overclock), and I was happy. If I was benchmarking to measure e-peen, I would have been miserable.

Keep in mind my rig is light duty, no workstation work at all. Just gaming, and basic web stuff. I can't see a difference between 2133 and 3466 without benchmarking. I did notice that combining the higher ram speed with a CPU OC really makes a big difference in Cinebench R15 scores, AIDA64 memory speed tests, etc. Almost 300pts difference in CBR15. But I don't "feel" a difference in games.

Take all that with a grain of salt, as I haven't been doing a ton of testing either, outside of stability testing.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-06-17, 12:22 PM
dwatterworth dwatterworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Rhode Island, United States.
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Nah, that 3466 only came about with a beta BIOS update, maybe 2 BIOS flashes ago. I think since the AGESA 1004 update.

As for performance, it's hard for me to measure since I game at 4K, so that eliminates the CPU pretty much, as all the hard work is done by the GPUs. I will say this: for benchmarks, it makes a difference. In gaming, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I wasn't gaming heavily with the system at first, since most of my time was spent learning the BIOS, what settings affect what, etc. At one point thoughh I was running Prey with everything stock (except a GPU overclock), and I was happy. If I was benchmarking to measure e-peen, I would have been miserable.

Keep in mind my rig is light duty, no workstation work at all. Just gaming, and basic web stuff. I can't see a difference between 2133 and 3466 without benchmarking. I did notice that combining the higher ram speed with a CPU OC really makes a big difference in Cinebench R15 scores, AIDA64 memory speed tests, etc. Almost 300pts difference in CBR15. But I don't "feel" a difference in games.

Take all that with a grain of salt, as I haven't been doing a ton of testing either, outside of stability testing.

Thank you for the insight! It's always one thing to read / watch reviews but another to talk to day-to-day users. Thank you again!
__________________
3950X - Crosshair VIII Hero - 32GB 3200CL14 - (2) 500gb 970 Evo+ - PNY 1080ti - Seasonic X850 - Phanteks P600S - AC 420x45, AC 280x45 - VP755, Eisblock XPX, NeXXos GPX, Noctua PPC-2000's all around.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.