Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-06-17, 04:00 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,570
AMD has released a broad list of Ryzen compatible DDR4 memory modules

AMD has released a broad list of Ryzen compatible DDR4 memory modules, which AMD has verified to work at rates speeds with Ryzen CPUs at DCOP settings.



Read more on AMD's new Ryzen verified memory list.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-06-17, 05:08 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,104
Damn, they don't list kits over 3200mhz.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-06-17, 06:52 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Damn, they don't list kits over 3200mhz.
Some people have gotten 3800 kits to work, Just depends on the board.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-17, 06:56 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,104
It depends on things that no one in the universe understands, not even Asus. Might be the board, BIOS, AGESA code, the CPUs IMC, etc. No one knows for sure. A lot of us have trouble hitting 3600, even with quality RAM. Platform is still too immature for higher speed memory. I'll be happy with 3466 for now. AMD still has loads of work to do though.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-06-17, 07:30 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,654
I was always planning on picking up a Samsung B-Die memory module (Trident Z), but even at the stock 3200Mhz I worry it won't work. As Bartacus said, no one seems to know why for one it works and for another it doesn't.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-06-17, 08:28 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,104
Mine is Trident Z, 2x8GB single rank Samsung B-die, and rated for [email protected] On paper it's ideal Ryzen memory (high speed / low timings / b-die), but I can't get 3600 going for the life of me. But 3466 is close enough for me, at least until the next CH6 Hero bios update.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-06-17, 08:34 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Mine is Trident Z, 2x8GB single rank Samsung B-die, and rated for [email protected] On paper it's ideal Ryzen memory (high speed / low timings / b-die), but I can't get 3600 going for the life of me. But 3466 is close enough for me, at least until the next CH6 Hero bios update.
3466Mhz is still excellent. I feel like there is a diminishing return for the money and effort put in for 3600Mhz memory so I think I'll be happy with 3200Mhz.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-06-17, 08:40 PM
dwatterworth dwatterworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Rhode Island, United States.
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
It depends on things that no one in the universe understands, not even Asus. Might be the board, BIOS, AGESA code, the CPUs IMC, etc. No one knows for sure. A lot of us have trouble hitting 3600, even with quality RAM. Platform is still too immature for higher speed memory. I'll be happy with 3466 for now. AMD still has loads of work to do though.
Have you run that memory speed from the start on your machine or was it a progressive increase in speed with each bios update or something of the sort?
If so, could you tell me if you've noticed an increase in performance in daily computing / gaming and any possible workstation tasks?
Thank you for any insight you could provide!
__________________
4790K - Z97 Gryphon - 16GB Dom. Plat. - 256GB 840 Pro - 512GB 850 Evo - EVGA 980ti SC - Seasonic X850 - Evolv mATX TG - (2) AC 280mm rads, VP755, Eisblock XPX, NeXXos GPX, Noctua PPC-2000's all around.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-06-17, 08:54 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwatterworth View Post
Have you run that memory speed from the start on your machine or was it a progressive increase in speed with each bios update or something of the sort?
If so, could you tell me if you've noticed an increase in performance in daily computing / gaming and any possible workstation tasks?
Thank you for any insight you could provide!
Nah, that 3466 only came about with a beta BIOS update, maybe 2 BIOS flashes ago. I think since the AGESA 1004 update.

As for performance, it's hard for me to measure since I game at 4K, so that eliminates the CPU pretty much, as all the hard work is done by the GPUs. I will say this: for benchmarks, it makes a difference. In gaming, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I wasn't gaming heavily with the system at first, since most of my time was spent learning the BIOS, what settings affect what, etc. At one point thoughh I was running Prey with everything stock (except a GPU overclock), and I was happy. If I was benchmarking to measure e-peen, I would have been miserable.

Keep in mind my rig is light duty, no workstation work at all. Just gaming, and basic web stuff. I can't see a difference between 2133 and 3466 without benchmarking. I did notice that combining the higher ram speed with a CPU OC really makes a big difference in Cinebench R15 scores, AIDA64 memory speed tests, etc. Almost 300pts difference in CBR15. But I don't "feel" a difference in games.

Take all that with a grain of salt, as I haven't been doing a ton of testing either, outside of stability testing.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 16GB FlareX 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-06-17, 12:22 PM
dwatterworth dwatterworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Rhode Island, United States.
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Nah, that 3466 only came about with a beta BIOS update, maybe 2 BIOS flashes ago. I think since the AGESA 1004 update.

As for performance, it's hard for me to measure since I game at 4K, so that eliminates the CPU pretty much, as all the hard work is done by the GPUs. I will say this: for benchmarks, it makes a difference. In gaming, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I wasn't gaming heavily with the system at first, since most of my time was spent learning the BIOS, what settings affect what, etc. At one point thoughh I was running Prey with everything stock (except a GPU overclock), and I was happy. If I was benchmarking to measure e-peen, I would have been miserable.

Keep in mind my rig is light duty, no workstation work at all. Just gaming, and basic web stuff. I can't see a difference between 2133 and 3466 without benchmarking. I did notice that combining the higher ram speed with a CPU OC really makes a big difference in Cinebench R15 scores, AIDA64 memory speed tests, etc. Almost 300pts difference in CBR15. But I don't "feel" a difference in games.

Take all that with a grain of salt, as I haven't been doing a ton of testing either, outside of stability testing.

Thank you for the insight! It's always one thing to read / watch reviews but another to talk to day-to-day users. Thank you again!
__________________
4790K - Z97 Gryphon - 16GB Dom. Plat. - 256GB 840 Pro - 512GB 850 Evo - EVGA 980ti SC - Seasonic X850 - Evolv mATX TG - (2) AC 280mm rads, VP755, Eisblock XPX, NeXXos GPX, Noctua PPC-2000's all around.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.