Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-05-17, 02:53 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,790
G.Skill showcase 4000MHz+ Trident Z memory at Computex

G.Skill showcase 4000MHz+ Trident Z memory at Computex, which includes a 4-channel kit that runs at 4200MHz and a kit that reportedly runs at 4800MHz.



Read more on G.Skill's latest 4000MHz+ memory kits.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-05-17, 04:56 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,633
4800mhz on a Ryzen system. Wonder how that'll do
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-05-17, 06:01 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
4800mhz on a Ryzen system. Wonder how that'll do
Scaling is not linear, but it would be epic if you could run memory that fast. I wonder... What happens when memory runs faster than CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-05-17, 06:06 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,633
I didn't say it was linear, I was just pondering what it would be like to run 4800mhz on ryzen
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-05-17, 06:11 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
I didn't say it was linear, I was just pondering what it would be like to run 4800mhz on ryzen
Could the infinity fabric even run as fast as 2400mhz? I wonder if there is an upper limit there. I'm sure there is, just not sure what the limit would be.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-05-17, 07:04 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Could the infinity fabric even run as fast as 2400mhz? I wonder if there is an upper limit there. I'm sure there is, just not sure what the limit would be.
No one really knows how the fabric works outside of AMD tbh
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-17, 01:20 AM
War Machine War Machine is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 304
Man that G.Skill memory Black/Silver looks sick just as nice as the Corsair Dom Plats or maybe even nicer.

-OFF TOPIC-
I'm looking at buying some new memory but i'm having a hard choice i was going to get the Dom Plats until i seen this kit but the problem is none of my computer shops stock this G.Skill Black/Sliver kit in Quad channel only Dual channel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-17, 01:24 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,292
Dom plats look not as good and look outdated. I prefer trident myself. That said, no one needs this much speed, do they, but it is is awesome without a doubt!! Well done!
__________________
Asus Z370 Maximus X Hero | Intel Core i7-8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Windows 10 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-17, 01:28 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by The F34R Channel View Post
Dom plats look not as good and look outdated. I prefer trident myself. That said, no one needs this much speed, do they, but it is is awesome without a doubt!! Well done!
Trident has more modern design than Dominator, and i don't understand Corsair's pricing. Doms are more expensive than Trident, and trident looks better, and has better timings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-17, 03:02 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
Trident has more modern design than Dominator, and i don't understand Corsair's pricing. Doms are more expensive than Trident, and trident looks better, and has better timings.
Precisely! It's just Corsair being daft
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.