Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-05-17, 10:07 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,875
EK release three new Gaming series water cooling kits

EK has launched three new Gaming series water cooling kits that are designed to offer beginners everything that they need for a water-cooled system.



Read more on EK's new gaming series of water cooling kits.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-05-17, 10:11 AM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,822
Who (still) uses 5.25" these days though?...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-05-17, 10:13 AM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Who (still) uses 5.25" these days though?...
Better yet, who even has 5.25" bays anymore? I haven't for over 3 years.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-05-17, 10:32 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 885
Talk about not paying attention to market trends. Nice kit though.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-05-17, 11:14 AM
Peace Š Peace Š is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Better yet, who even has 5.25" bays anymore? I haven't for over 3 years.
I still have 3 in my Thermaltake Chaser A31 with one being occupied by my DVD burner I'd still put one in a new PC, because you might need it one day and heck, it's only 10€.

This kit looks really interesting and I'd like to try it, but it's simply way to expensive. Maybe not as a whole, but... yeah...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K + Alpenföhn Matterhorn Pure
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
GPU: ASUS GTX1070 Strix OC 8GB
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Case: Thermaltake Chaser A31
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-05-17, 11:41 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace Š View Post
I still have 3 in my Thermaltake Chaser A31 with one being occupied by my DVD burner I'd still put one in a new PC, because you might need it one day and heck, it's only 10€.

This kit looks really interesting and I'd like to try it, but it's simply way to expensive. Maybe not as a whole, but... yeah...
Careful how loud you shout that


Yeah bayres' went out of fashion before disc drives did.. they're not exactly convenient anymore. Quite a bit out of touch here EK
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | Corsair RM1000i | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-05-17, 12:53 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 662
bit of a fail there, whilst I do still have a 5 1/4 bay it is 1 slot only
__________________
Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H | A10-6800k mild oc | Antec H1200 | Hyperx 1866 2 x 8gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 140gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-05-17, 01:21 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 7,359
Funny part is that even though it's a dual bay res you still need a way to fill it. So you need a third bay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Careful how loud you shout that
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




And they couldn't prevent Jack from being happy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-05-17, 08:38 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Funny part is that even though it's a dual bay res you still need a way to fill it. So you need a third bay.



^^^ This right here.. Any bayres always requires an extra bay for filling unless you setup a fillport system. They're just not convenient anymore. Also they're usually 'glued' acrylic which kinda looks a bit meh compared to a tube res these days :S

Just doesn't make sense
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | Corsair RM1000i | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-05-17, 09:53 AM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 320
I agree in that its not the smartest thing. But this is for noobs, so it just has to be simple.
A bay res is more or less guaranteed to fit without the risk of having to drill holes and stuff like that. And with soft tubing, just make the tubes long enough, so that the bay-res can be pulled a couple of centimeters out.
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.