Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-05-17, 04:18 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,835
Prey PC Performance Review

Let's have a look at Prey's performance on the PC platform. Will this be a AAA release for Cryengine or will Prey bring dishonor upon Bethesda?



Read more on Prey's PC performance.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-17, 04:21 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,715
Thanks Mark.

Listen I don't want to be a mega pain or anything but could you lower the settings down a little and run the 1440p benches again? I just want to see if it's VRAM bound and that's why the Fury X isn't so hot at 1440p (good old texture caching FTL).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-17, 04:47 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is online now
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,292
Thanks for the article, Mark. It's clear that a lot of effort goes into these reviews.

Glad to see that the game's performance is pretty decent, too.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX @ 3066MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-17, 08:29 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,673
In regard to the partnership between AMD and Bethesda, for this title the optimization work went into the Ryzen CPUs, instead of the GPUs. Although it should have been the other way around but anyways thats what they did

Alien, I'd just run High settings. I couldn't tell a difference between High and Very High, so it shouldn't be a big deal to tone it down. Saves you Vram and gets you extra performance
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-17, 09:06 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,059
Poor Radeon. Raja must be peeved with the CPU team getting all the glory.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-17, 09:13 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Poor Radeon. Raja must be peeved with the CPU team getting all the glory.
I'd say right now Ryzen is more important than a Polaris refresh. Makes more money sooo it makes sense. Until Vega comes around
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-17, 12:32 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,059
Yeah, Ryzen is bigger bucks. Still, it's surprised to see a 1060 beat a Fury X. That's not just a win for Nvidia, it's a complete thrashing.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-17, 04:58 PM
steve30x steve30x is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Thanks Mark.

Listen I don't want to be a mega pain or anything but could you lower the settings down a little and run the 1440p benches again? I just want to see if it's VRAM bound and that's why the Fury X isn't so hot at 1440p (good old texture caching FTL).
"Prey uses less than 4GB of VRAM in all cases except for 4K Very High settings, which means that most modern GPUs should not suffer from any real issues when running this game."

https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/...ance_review/12
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 - Core I5 6600K
MSI GTX980 (Stock cooler)
-
Asus Z170-P D3
16GB Kingston HyperX 1866 - Corsair HX1000
BENQ XL2411Z - Asus Xonar D2 - Logitech Z906

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-17, 05:05 PM
steve30x steve30x is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 446
Quote:
though on several occasions load times did take up to 10 minutes
My game always only takes a few seconds to load. Its never taken this long to load and I am 13 hours in the game.
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 - Core I5 6600K
MSI GTX980 (Stock cooler)
-
Asus Z170-P D3
16GB Kingston HyperX 1866 - Corsair HX1000
BENQ XL2411Z - Asus Xonar D2 - Logitech Z906

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-17, 10:43 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post
My game always only takes a few seconds to load. Its never taken this long to load and I am 13 hours in the game.
As I said, it has happened several times during playtesting. The best solution is to just quit the game and try it again.

This does not happen very often, but it happens and it would be negligent not to mention it. I have no doubt some people will never come across this issue, but it is nonetheless something that happened to us.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.