Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-04-17, 11:11 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,423
Intel's X299 platform is rumoured to release on June 26th

Intel's X299 platform is now rumoured to be releasing on June 26th, with a product launch on May 30th.



Read more on Intel's X299 platform.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-04-17, 12:06 PM
Davie321 Davie321 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
Hi, do we know...

... what CPU socket these x299 boards are on.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-04-17, 12:17 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davie321 View Post
... what CPU socket these x299 boards are on.

Thanks
It is rumoured to be LGA2066, but we have no official confirmation. New socket design.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-04-17, 05:20 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,320
Can't tell what the point if KL X CPUs are for with only 4 cores. A bigger premium on 4 cores? No thanks.
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-04-17, 05:22 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Can't tell what the point if KL X CPUs are for with only 4 cores. A bigger premium on 4 cores? No thanks.
1 core per channel of RAM.
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-04-17, 05:25 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
1 core per channel of RAM.
It's still dual channel
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-04-17, 05:48 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
It's still dual channel
DOH! I don't get this whole dual CPU support thing either. Unless Intel is taking a tip from AMD and trying to build a platform that will last 4 years. Too little too late if you ask me. I'll be happy with Ryzen once they work the kinks out. This X299 isn't tempting me one little bit.
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-04-17, 06:32 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
DOH! I don't get this whole dual CPU support thing either. Unless Intel is taking a tip from AMD and trying to build a platform that will last 4 years. Too little too late if you ask me. I'll be happy with Ryzen once they work the kinks out. This X299 isn't tempting me one little bit.
I think Ryzen 2 will be a bigger kick in the nuts to Intel if they screw X299 up. Which seems they are to me from what I can see
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-04-17, 06:51 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,256
I doubt Intel will screw up that bad. They'll be stable as always, unlike Ryzen at the moment. AMD (and mobo makers) *really* need to work out the memory kinks on Ryzen long before Ryzen 2.
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-04-17, 06:53 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,320
Ryzen memory is fine now. The issue is just clocking above 3200mhz along with quad channel speeds being pretty low. But for most people it is fine. It'll be kinked out long before Ryzen 2. They probably have 18months before Ryzen 2 comes around.

Intel paying a premium for a 4 core on the "X" platform sounds like a screw up to me. Unless it clocks to 6ghz there isn't a reason for it.
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.