Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-02-17, 12:17 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,318
AMD Ryzen ROG AM4 Crosshair VI Hero Preview



Let's have a look at our first Ryzen ready AM4 motherboard, the ASUS Crosshair VI Hero, which comes with support for legacy AM3 coolers.


AMD Ryzen ROG AM4 Crosshair VI Hero Preview

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-02-17, 12:39 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,218
Nice Video Tom and good to actually show that it has support for AM3 coolers for the people who are looking at buying this board.
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-02-17, 01:08 PM
deadbc77 deadbc77 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 75
Thank you for the overview Tom really appreciate it. Pre-ordered this one from Amazon.
__________________
[IMG][/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-02-17, 01:16 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,960
nice will be getting 1 of these, the itch to upgrade is real.

got the email notification saw Ryzen and thought you had a review my joy was real for a few seconds, But Asus motherboard is still as exciting the time is getting close
__________________
CASE: Define R5
CPU: RYZEN 1500x, H100i GTX
MB: MSI TOMAHAWK ARCTIC
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: TTL white 1060
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-02-17, 01:21 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,269
This supporting am3 compatible coolers is a genius masterstroke! I cannot praise this enough, well done asus on that!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-02-17, 01:29 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,193
Yeah that is awesome. Proper awesome. Nice video Tom ! very in depth and thorough as usual mate.

This board is teh secks. I know they may do a higher end version but for right now I would guess this will lead the pack, even though the Asrock Taichi is rumoured to have 16 phases.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-02-17, 01:32 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 672
Lets hope other partners follow this example
__________________
Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H | A10-6800k mild oc | Antec H1200 | Hyperx 1866 2 x 8gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 140gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-02-17, 01:33 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is online now
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,914
So 2 full length pcie slots from the cpu and another one from the chipset... now I'm curious whether you could run three way cf on that config...
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-02-17, 01:34 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
So 2 full length pcie slots from the cpu and another one from the chipset... now I'm curious whether you could run three way cf on that config...
Yes you could, though you would want your head examined.

There are no "rules" on Crossfire. It will literally work in any board physically able to carry it and deliver at least X4 to each GPU.

Nvidia however? X8 or the drivers block. So you are limited to Sli on this board, not that it matters any way (see also head examination).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-02-17, 01:37 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yes you could, though you would want your head examined.

There are no "rules" on Crossfire. It will literally work in any board physically able to carry it and deliver at least X4 to each GPU.

Nvidia however? X8 or the drivers block. So you are limited to Sli on this board, not that it matters any way (see also head examination).

No you cant
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.