Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-02-17, 08:47 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,638
Corsair releases socket AM4 compatibility info

Corsair has announced that they will be creating AM4 compatible mounting brackets for their AIO water coolers, with some coolers already offering AM4 support.



Read more on Corsair's AM4 support.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-17, 09:48 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,577
Bunch of bull. The h100i, the second gen they made to the original, is not supported. That's probably there most successful selling one. I seriously can't upgrade to Zen because I have to buy a new cooler all for a bracket
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-17, 11:28 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Bunch of bull. The h100i, the second gen they made to the original, is not supported. That's probably there most successful selling one. I seriously can't upgrade to Zen because I have to buy a new cooler all for a bracket
Which model is it? H100i, H100i GTX or H100i v2? Because I swear the original H100i had the square CPU block that uses AMD's mounting clips and the H100i GTX and v2 use the same as each other which will be getting the new upgrade kit. The original H100 however I swear uses AMD's mounting clips so that will fit regardless.

Also WYP with the pricing, Corsair told me the upgrade kit would be free if the cooler is within warranty.
__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Build Log is now live here!
Ryzen 1700X | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz | XFX RX 480 8GB
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST RAID 0 | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-17, 11:36 PM
pig666eon pig666eon is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Which model is it? H100i, H100i GTX or H100i v2? Because I swear the original H100i had the square CPU block that uses AMD's mounting clips and the H100i GTX and v2 use the same as each other which will be getting the new upgrade kit. The original H100 however I swear uses AMD's mounting clips so that will fit regardless.

Also WYP with the pricing, Corsair told me the upgrade kit would be free if the cooler is within warranty.
can confirm that the h100 uses the standard motherboard bracket, i wonder if the cooler will still clamp tho with the extra height....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-17, 12:04 AM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by pig666eon View Post
can confirm that the h100 uses the standard motherboard bracket, i wonder if the cooler will still clamp tho with the extra height....
I think where it says height, it means width between the holes, not the actual height of the bracket from the motherboard itself as WYP said here:

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._cpu_coolers/1
__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Build Log is now live here!
Ryzen 1700X | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz | XFX RX 480 8GB
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST RAID 0 | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-17, 12:17 AM
pig666eon pig666eon is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
I think where it says height, it means width between the holes, not the actual height of the bracket from the motherboard itself as WYP said here:

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._cpu_coolers/1
well if thats the case then it wont matter since the clips on the actual bracket is centered anyway, just got a bit confused with the hole height thing could they not have used width? lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-17, 12:30 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Which model is it? H100i, H100i GTX or H100i v2? Because I swear the original H100i had the square CPU block that uses AMD's mounting clips and the H100i GTX and v2 use the same as each other which will be getting the new upgrade kit. The original H100 however I swear uses AMD's mounting clips so that will fit regardless.

Also WYP with the pricing, Corsair told me the upgrade kit would be free if the cooler is within warranty.
The original H100i. Not the V2.
You had to original release, the one that had a button on the pump to select which pump speed you wanted with 3 white leds. The next one, the H100i, released. That's the one i'm using.
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-17, 12:43 AM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
The original H100i. Not the V2.
You had to original release, the one that had a button on the pump to select which pump speed you wanted with 3 white leds. The next one, the H100i, released. That's the one i'm using.
this one? Because if it is, I think it uses AMD's mounting system which fits AM4 fine

__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Build Log is now live here!
Ryzen 1700X | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz | XFX RX 480 8GB
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST RAID 0 | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-17, 01:58 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,577
Yes.
It does? Well then I take back what I said. Thanks for clearing that up
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-17, 07:41 AM
B0GiE B0GiE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 16
No mention of H115i???
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.