Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-17, 05:24 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,626
Fallout 4 High Resolution Texture Pack Review

Let's have a look at how Fallout 4's new high-resolution texture pack affects both the game's performance and visuals. Is it worth the 58GB download?



Read more on Fallout 4's High-Resolution Texture Pack.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-17, 06:11 PM
UncleGamer UncleGamer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
I have run this pack on a 4 GB Fury and there was no performance impact. Seems the memory requirements might not be as high as they are being stated or the HBM is showing what it can do with bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-17, 09:07 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleGamer View Post
I have run this pack on a 4 GB Fury and there was no performance impact. Seems the memory requirements might not be as high as they are being stated or the HBM is showing what it can do with bandwidth.
AMD have "fixed" the Fury X VRAM problem by making it stream textures from your hard drive. So whilst it may run well enough it's not running anywhere near as well as it should. The textures use 5.5gb+ of VRAM. So as soon as you go over your 4gb everything slows down. It may still be playable, but you will suffer for it.

I did some testing recently and discovered that certain games came to a crawl when they used over the 4gb. Still playable, but 28 FPS instead of like 50. It makes a huge difference.

Seriously, there was no defending 4gb VRAM when it released and it's even worse now (and yes I own one and prefer to use it because it's very quiet).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-17, 10:28 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 10,641
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
That is so disappointing, 50GB for what looks like ever so slightly better anti-aliasing.

I've seen mods 1/50th the size that increase visuals more than this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-17, 10:33 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
That is so disappointing, 50GB for what looks like ever so slightly better anti-aliasing.

I've seen mods 1/50th the size that increase visuals more than this.
Will try it tomorrow. From what I am reading it just makes things sharper and clearer.

TBH Dice I was so disappointed with the graphics that at least it's something to attempt to make it better looking, because as stock it looked like a cow's arse.

I remember the first HD pack for FO3. Some said they could not tell the difference but I could, well. It made the asphalt much sharper and more detailed. Not too bothered about the size of it tbh.

BTW guys, how do you enable it? or does it just replace Ultra settings?
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-17, 01:30 AM
Primey Primey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleGamer View Post
I have run this pack on a 4 GB Fury and there was no performance impact. Seems the memory requirements might not be as high as they are being stated or the HBM is showing what it can do with bandwidth.
There's tons of proof on the Internet that it requires a lot of memory so no they most certainly didn't lie about the requirements.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-17, 01:35 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Actually.. I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 11,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primey View Post
There's tons of proof on the Internet that it requires a lot of memory so no they most certainly didn't lie about the requirements.
While I am not doubting it uses more vram, the amount varies by card.
The engine will only consume what it needs, then if it sees more is available, it will consume as much as it can. It's best to test with multiple cards with different vram sizes. The Fury X even with 4GB could be enough, but that just means the game is consuming as much as possible without going over to prevent texture streaming. So i'd like to see multiple tests done with a Fury/Fury X.
__________________
There's a band called 1023MB.
They haven't had any gigs yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-17, 08:09 AM
spies_sparks spies_sparks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Crazy amount of GBs, without any big improvement. Now the game just looks as it should have looked a few years, before it was originally launched.

I loved Fallout 3 and Las vegas, but damn... in terms of graphics, it is so bland and crappy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-17, 06:52 AM
3x3cUt0r 3x3cUt0r is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
full sized slider for the last picture leads to the wrong one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-17, 07:44 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3x3cUt0r View Post
full sized slider for the last picture leads to the wrong one.
Thank you for pointing this out. I will fix this slider immediately.


Edit - this slider has now been fixed.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.