Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-17, 11:28 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,770
ASUS Z270I Strix ITX Motherboard Review



If you want the smaller ITX form factor but still require all the Z270 bells and whistles then maybe the ASUS Strix is the model for you. We find out.


ASUS Z270I Strix ITX Motherboard Review

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-17, 12:00 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,430
Really nice article and I'm more happy with my purchase of this motherboard, that I got yesterday, after reading this

I went away from ITX previously, due to the limiting 16GB RAM. Although, this can have 32GB, wich is a win for me

Just a quick, probably silly question, but when you went to those 4000+ memory speeds, did you just go into the BIOS and then set it to 4000, saved and restarted? Or did you do anything else to make it run stable at that speed?.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-17, 12:01 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Really nice article and I'm more happy with my purchase of this motherboard, that I got yesterday, after reading this

I went away from ITX previously, due to the limiting 16GB RAM. Although, this can have 32GB, wich is a win for me

Just a quick, probably silly question, but when you went to those 4000+ memory speeds, did you just go into the BIOS and then sit it to 4000, saved and restarted? Or did you do anything else to make it run stable at that speed?.
It will work with just XMP but Id advise you working the VCCIO and System Agent volts down as low as you can one at a time
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-17, 12:03 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
It will work with just XMP but Id advise you working the VCCIO and System Agent volts down as low as you can one at a time
Ahh okay, cheers. My memory is only 3000MHz though, but will check it out and do
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-17, 12:07 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Ahh okay, cheers. My memory is only 3000MHz though, but will check it out and do
You wont be able to just expect that to hit 4K. I have seperate 3866, 4000, 4133 and 4266 kits I just use for XMP testing....
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-17, 12:09 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
You wont be able to just expect that to hit 4K. I have seperate 3866, 4000, 4133 and 4266 kits I just use for XMP testing....
Nahh dude, as long as I can manage to get it to actually run at their advertised 3000MHz speed stable, I'm all good
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-17, 12:10 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Nahh dude, as long as I can manage to get it to actually run at their advertised 3000MHz speed stable, I'm all good

Board is more than capable. It XMP'd 4266 ffs.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-17, 12:11 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,458
Another corker in the Strix range. Gotta be the best looking ITX board I have seen yet.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-17, 12:14 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Board is more than capable. It XMP'd 4266 ffs.
Yeah well since I've never really manually tried those speeds, hence asking. But good to know it does well beyond my ram speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Another corker in the Strix range. Gotta be the best looking ITX board I have seen yet.
I'm so with you on that one, one of the big reasons I just fell in love with it and had to have it (which also made it a perfect choice)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-17, 12:17 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,458
Aye, this Strix range has totally nailed it IMO.

It's funny, because Gigabyte totally poached the X99 deluxe design for a couple of their new boards, but Asus are one step ahead haha.

Really looking forward to the AM4 Strix boards
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.