Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-01-17, 04:26 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,828
Bethesda will release a Fallout 4 high resolution texture pack next week

Bethesda will release a Fallout 4 high-resolution texture pack next week, listing an 8GB RX 490 as their recommended GPU for the new game version.



Read more on Fallout 4's High-resolution texture pack for PC.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-01-17, 04:39 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
Rx 490 ????
^ This...?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-01-17, 04:42 PM
vicsrealms vicsrealms is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Wow, so downtown Boston can drop my fps into the 10fps range (980ti).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-01-17, 04:45 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,386
Yay. Looking forward to this !
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-01-17, 04:56 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,576
58GB more storage?!
What are they kidding? It better all be 4k textures then. That'll be nearly 90GB for this game alone. SC is 100GB, it looks 10x as great as this game.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-01-17, 06:29 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,659
I like that they're pushing this out for the enthusiasts. It's a clever way of getting more people playing it again and spreading the word once more.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-01-17, 07:06 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,533
It's not textures this needs IMHO, it's a SMIM (Static Mesh Improvement Mod) that is sorely needed.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-01-17, 07:48 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,576
Feel bad for the PS4 Pro users who have this. They only have 1TB of storage space and less than that after formatting. Then having this game installed alone means the probably have ~850GB of storage left. That's 15% gone after one game. That's a big dent for a console user.

Although they are getting a massive increase in fidelity from this. So it's probably worth it for some people.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-01-17, 08:40 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,151
Thank god FO4 has decent SLI scaling now. I can only imagine trying to play this in 4K. Heck, I used to bog down regularly with regular textures at 4K (patching / driver updates did improve this immensely), so I can only imagine the pain this would inflict on my poor 4GB 980s!
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 32GB TridentZ RGB 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads / Barrow box reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-01-17, 10:00 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
I like that they're pushing this out for the enthusiasts. It's a clever way of getting more people playing it again and spreading the word once more.
It will run like a dog. What I mean is they probably had these textures ages and ages ago but had they released them before people would have demanded that they get more than 5 FPS out of the game so they probably sat on them until sales slumped.

They did exactly the same for Fallout 3. Released an official yet unofficial texture pack about a year after launch that devoured 1gb of VRAM easily. And that was when 256mb was the norm and 512 was a luxury. Thankfully I had a GTX 280 with 900mb or there abouts so it ran fine.

I'm not too worried about VRAM, I have a Titan XM. I doubt I will be able to max it at 1440p though so may have to see if it looks better with the textures at 1080p than it does without them @ 1440.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.