Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-01-17, 01:38 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,329
All of AMD's Ryzen CPU will have an unlocked multiplier

All of AMD's Ryzen CPU will have an unlocked multiplier, making the whole Zen lineup overclockable.



Read more on AMD's Ryzen CPUs.

__________________
I survived 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-17, 01:40 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,074
lmao shots fired

Intel just readying their super duper unlocked K series I3 for £183...
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-17, 02:12 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,077
the more i see this from amd and their willingness to adopt, invent and share open source tech, the more i want to support them with my next build. Shots fired, and rightfully so.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-17, 02:31 PM
wozza365 wozza365 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
lmao shots fired

Intel just readying their super duper unlocked K series I3 for £183...
That's insane money. Intel charging more to overclock has always been a tactic I strongly disagree with. That's also the same price as the new i5s. What the hell intel?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-17, 02:35 PM
IvIoody IvIoody is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 65
the only thing is not every AMD motherboard will allow overclocking. so same thing but a little diffrent. locking the OC option behind the more expencive motherboards.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-17, 02:38 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvIoody View Post
the only thing is not every AMD motherboard will allow overclocking. so same thing but a little diffrent. locking the OC option behind the more expencive motherboards.
Its not really the same thing. Motherboards are limited because some would simply not be capable of overlooking. Intel locks CPUs that would be perfectly capable just to grab a little more money.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-17, 02:51 PM
IvIoody IvIoody is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 65
all i ment by that is that both teams limit overclocking in some form or a other.
but yes intel releasing the same cpu 2 times with only the lock as a diffrence is a bit over the top
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-17, 03:33 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by wozza365 View Post
That's insane money. Intel charging more to overclock has always been a tactic I strongly disagree with. That's also the same price as the new i5s. What the hell intel?
I wouldn't look at the price of the new I5s and I7s if I were you. You may get a shock..

£350 for the 7700k quad core with HT. You could buy a 5820k for that a year ago !

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvIoody View Post
the only thing is not every AMD motherboard will allow overclocking. so same thing but a little diffrent. locking the OC option behind the more expencive motherboards.
I can absolutely assure you that they are not locking anything. This is an 8 core CPU, and when you overclock an 8 core CPU it munches power. Screw the TDP that goes out of the window. Last time around AMD made it so that Bulldozer fitted all existing AM3 sockets. This was bad, because 90% of the AM3 boards out there were trash and only had 4 phases. They were designed for a Phenom 2 quad core, not an 8 core Bulldozer.

As such many boards around that time either couldn't even keep the CPU at stock speed or simply burnt up (see also - MSI).

AMD have only done this to make sure everything stays safe. If you want to overclock an 8 core CPU then you need to buy the correct board to do it with. It's absolutely nothing like Intel locking down certain chipsets.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-17, 04:37 PM
Sliced Sliced is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvIoody View Post
the only thing is not every AMD motherboard will allow overclocking. so same thing but a little diffrent. locking the OC option behind the more expencive motherboards.
That is different.
Those are locked because they will be going on much cheaper motherboards that most likely won't have hardware that is anywhere near able to overclock.
They will be using the bare minimum of hardware to run a certain range of CPU's.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-17, 06:05 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Actually.. I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 11,093
Opens up a lot of opportunities for OEMs and the clocks. Should be interesting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.