Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-12-16, 04:33 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,195
Tom Clancy's The Division DirectX 12 Performance Review

DirectX 12 support has been officially added to Tom Clancy's The Division, with the promise of lower CPU usage and increased performance. Does this update live up to DirectX 12's hype?



Read more on The Division's DirectX 12 update.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-12-16, 05:25 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,041
Same conclusion as before. AMD are better in DX12. Nvidia still lose performance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-12-16, 05:42 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,863
I'd just like to point out.... Since you are testing with a high end cpu and DX12 most famous for reducing cpu stress... why don't you test DX12 vs DX11 on older cpu architectures like bulldozer or ivy/sandy bridge?

Then we might be able to see some great differences about 10 fps or more(?)
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you know how everything but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-12-16, 06:19 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
I'd just like to point out.... Since you are testing with a high end cpu and DX12 most famous for reducing cpu stress... why don't you test DX12 vs DX11 on older cpu architectures like bulldozer or ivy/sandy bridge?

Then we might be able to see some great differences about 10 fps or more(?)
because of availability
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-12-16, 06:59 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 10,965
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Same conclusion as before. AMD are better in DX12. Nvidia still lose performance.
Some people on the OCUK forums were saying they got slightly better performance on DX12 with a 1080.


DX11 maxed out settings including HBAO+, HFTS etc... GTX 1080




DX12 maxed out settings including HBAO+, HFTS etc... GTX 1080




And then this is my own testing with everything maxed/turned on i.e HBAO+, HFTS etc... at 1440P DX11 and DX12, DX12 giving quite a nice boost with the GTX 1080 -



__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-12-16, 08:58 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,831
yep DX12 definately running slower for me. But I had SLI enabled on both counts. ill try it again tomorrow with SLI off and see if it boosts my fps when using 1 card.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-12-16, 09:10 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 10,965
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
yep DX12 definately running slower for me. But I had SLI enabled on both counts. ill try it again tomorrow with SLI off and see if it boosts my fps when using 1 card.
When I turned off Rivatuner+HWINFO64 I noticed performance upped quite a bit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-12-16, 12:56 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,041
Don't believe those first two images. The Fraps gives it away. It doesn't work with DX12. So it's DX11 and the one without it must be DX12.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-12-16, 01:04 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 10,965
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Don't believe those first two images. The Fraps gives it away. It doesn't work with DX12. So it's DX11 and the one without it must be DX12.
It's not Fraps, It's Shadowplays FPS counter which shows up in games run in windowed mode when screenshots are taken, if you run a game in fullscreen though and take a screenshot the FPS counter does not show up in screenies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-12-16, 04:57 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 12,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
It's not Fraps, It's Shadowplays FPS counter which shows up in games run in windowed mode when screenshots are taken, if you run a game in fullscreen though and take a screenshot the FPS counter does not show up in screenies.
....
I'm still a nonbeliever!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 09:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.