Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-12-16, 04:36 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,341
Watch Dogs 2 PC Performance Review

Let's have a look at Watch Dogs 2's PC performance. Have Ubisoft finally released a good PC port?



Read more on Watch Dogs 2's PC performance.

__________________
I survived 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-16, 08:10 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 10,535
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Question, How did the VRAM usage go to 9.2GB on the 1080 when there's only 8GB of VRAM ?

Wat bee diss voodoo ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-16, 09:35 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 6,974
Daym son! Just got me a 1070, looks like I'm going to need a Titan X.. jokes 1080p is more than adequate and I'm liking the 1070 results. Top job Mark.

EDIT: P.S the sliders thing is epic!
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-16, 12:55 AM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 561
This is why I don't play games in the first year of their release—or in this case the second. I'd rather wait when hardware has caught up. With a Fury at 1440p, I'd be looking at a mixture of medium and high settings. I didn't expect to have to do that quite so soon—and that's still only 60 FPS. I do wish this was better optimised for AMD hardware.

edit: Though, actually, now that I've looked very closely at the 4k screenshots, there really doesn't appear to be that big of a difference between Medium and Ultra. There is definitely a texture sharpness to the Ultra settings that Medium and High do not have, but there isn't a great deal I can see otherwise.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-16, 08:34 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Question, How did the VRAM usage go to 9.2GB on the 1080 when there's only 8GB of VRAM ?

Wat bee diss voodoo ?
For the final one, I just used the VRAM usage monitor in the settings menu. I checked the VRAM usage in-game and it used the full 8GB on the 1080.

The VRAM usage scale in the settings is very accurate.
__________________
I survived 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-16, 12:49 PM
The F34R Channel's Avatar
The F34R Channel The F34R Channel is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 686
I'm hoping for some performance improvements in this title in the near future. I'd like to play it at ultra at 1440p w/ a single 1080 and have 60+ FPS. It's disappointing that that's currently not possible 24/7.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 | Intel i5-6600K 4.6GHz | Corsair H105 | Corsair Vengeance LPX 3GHz CL15 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix A8G | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-16, 03:11 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Question, How did the VRAM usage go to 9.2GB on the 1080 when there's only 8GB of VRAM ?

Wat bee diss voodoo ?
Because it uses the paging file on your hard drive. Nvidia have a name for it but I just had a brain fart so you will have to do without the name.

It's not good and causes serious input lag. Texture streaming is what they call it.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-16, 08:25 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 6,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Because it uses the paging file on your hard drive. Nvidia have a name for it but I just had a brain fart so you will have to do without the name.

It's not good and causes serious input lag. Texture streaming is what they call it.
Texture Streaming is at game engine level, this was a huge issue when RAGE came out and disabling it for some gave a smoother game. Nvidia did fix this in a quick driver update, so as for WD2 I'd hang on a while longer and see if they do the same.
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-16, 01:42 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,081
They will nerf the graphics.

Talking of nerfing graphics I tried out Deus Ex today. Runs like turd, doesn't look all that good. Well, some of it is great (like the characters etc) but even at ultra it looked so so. Terrible performance too.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.