Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-11-16, 05:56 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,998
ASUS X99-E-10G WS Review



The ASUS Workstation range has long been a good performer, and with dual 10G LAN ports the latest version promises more of the same.


ASUS X99-E-10G WS Review

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-16, 10:05 PM
Celt Celt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Asus does have the xG-U2008 switch that will provide 10 Gigabit network switching for $249.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-16, 08:56 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celt View Post
Asus does have the xG-U2008 switch that will provide 10 Gigabit network switching for $249.
Thats not available in the UK though. Ive asked before
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-16, 10:42 AM
Breit Breit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 54
Thanks for the review. I've been looking at that board for a while and couldn't decide between this and the RVE Edition 10.

Too bad it didn't have SFP+ ports for its 10GigE. Would've loved to throw out the separate 10GigE card while upgrading to this board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Thats not available in the UK though. Ive asked before
Also it does only have two 10GigE ports. The other ports are all 1GigE.

A valid alternative if you've got SFP+ 10GigE is this one: TP-Link T1700G-28TQ

I've got one myself. It's great so far, especially for that price. Suitable for livingroom-use 'cause its fanless and it even has four 10GigE ports.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-11-16, 12:27 AM
NoPrisoners's Avatar
NoPrisoners NoPrisoners is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 31
The updated UEFI so M.2/U.2 drives are recognised isn't up on the support page yet. Sent a support request to Asus, hopefully they get back to me quickly with an updated UEFI or the MB is going back as I can't use it with my 750
__________________
Case Labs M8 - i7 5820k @ 4.5 GHz - Asus X99-Deluxe - 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz - 2x GTX 780Ti - 512GB Samsung M.2 & 6TB WD Green HDD - Cosair AX1200i - Custom water loop, MB VRMs, CPU & GPU's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-11-16, 09:37 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoPrisoners View Post
The updated UEFI so M.2/U.2 drives are recognised isn't up on the support page yet. Sent a support request to Asus, hopefully they get back to me quickly with an updated UEFI or the MB is going back as I can't use it with my 750
Ive sent them an angry email...... Untill they fix it they cant moan Ive given you this

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwtbxnpxeb...101701.7z?dl=0
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-11-16, 10:24 AM
NoPrisoners's Avatar
NoPrisoners NoPrisoners is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive sent them an angry email...... Untill they fix it they cant moan Ive given you this

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwtbxnpxeb...101701.7z?dl=0
Thanks :-) you saved the day
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.