Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-10-16, 03:34 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,151
Gears of War 4 PC Performance Review

Let's have a look at Gears of War 4's PC performance, including a look at DirectX 12 Async Compute.



Read more on Gears of War 4's PC performance.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-10-16, 08:23 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,093
For every turd there is a chocolate bar.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-10-16, 10:14 PM
gijoe50000 gijoe50000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 36
Would be nice of they optimized the textures/game for certain amounts of vram. Having 4210MB makes no sense since the level down for 1080p is 2770MB. Everyone with a 4GB gpu will be missing out here.

There seems to be a huge gap between ultra and high..

It would make more sense to have the vram optimized as, say: 6GB for Ultra, 4GB for very high 3GB for high 2GB medium.
Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-10-16, 10:47 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 11,991
Strange the only card using Async from Nvidia to lose performance was actually the 1080
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-10-16, 08:26 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,241
Might actually pull the trigger on this once I'm done with Mafia III (not even started yet lol).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-10-16, 01:11 PM
SPS SPS is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe50000 View Post
Would be nice of they optimized the textures/game for certain amounts of vram. Having 4210MB makes no sense since the level down for 1080p is 2770MB. Everyone with a 4GB gpu will be missing out here.

There seems to be a huge gap between ultra and high..

It would make more sense to have the vram optimized as, say: 6GB for Ultra, 4GB for very high 3GB for high 2GB medium.
Does that make sense?
In UE4 you set a pre-defined texture streaming pool, this can either be set exactly or it can be set to be a percentage of VRAM. The streaming system well then only stream in the correct mips per texture where it is able to do so. If the texture pool is set to 20% of VRAM at low settings using 1080 (which has a fair bit of VRAM), it's possible that the VRAM report actually shows more VRAM being used than necessary. Once the pool is full it will only stream out textures when the memory being used is required for use by a texture coming into view. This helps prevent wasted time streaming out textures for the sake of it.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest...res/Streaming/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-10-16, 07:28 AM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe50000 View Post
It would make more sense to have the vram optimized as, say: 6GB for Ultra, 4GB for very high 3GB for high 2GB medium.
Does that make sense?
It is not so easy to do as the amount of VRAM used can vary from driver to driver also AMD and NVidia sometimes have different usage at the same settings.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-10-16, 12:43 PM
AriGold AriGold is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe50000 View Post
Would be nice of they optimized the textures/game for certain amounts of vram. Having 4210MB makes no sense since the level down for 1080p is 2770MB. Everyone with a 4GB gpu will be missing out here.

There seems to be a huge gap between ultra and high..

It would make more sense to have the vram optimized as, say: 6GB for Ultra, 4GB for very high 3GB for high 2GB medium.
Does that make sense?
Totally agree with this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.