Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-10-16, 02:29 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,160
Mafia III PC Performance Review

Mafia III's unlock framerate patch is now live. Let's have a look at the game's performance.



Read more on Mafia III's PC performance.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-16, 06:02 PM
PUllock PUllock is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
I have an i5-6600k and a GTX 1070 SC, running Mafia III at 1080p with unlimited framerate option and all settings on high my game never drops below 70fps and IMO Mafia is extremely well optimized, I'm quite surprised at your conclusion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-16, 08:54 PM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,193
Of course we cant tell the difference between medium and medium on page 4

Unless of course that was intentional.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-16, 08:55 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 11,995
Then you're settings aren't correct. Other sites have reported similar results. 1080 is needed for 60fps at 1080p
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-16, 09:37 PM
Primey Primey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by PUllock View Post
I have an i5-6600k and a GTX 1070 SC, running Mafia III at 1080p with unlimited framerate option and all settings on high my game never drops below 70fps and IMO Mafia is extremely well optimized, I'm quite surprised at your conclusion.
Are you for real? Mafia 3 is very, very poor on PC and no you're not playing at 70 fps on high with a 1070. The 1070 can get just 50 fps. Source: Other benchmarks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-16, 07:52 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by PUllock View Post
I have an i5-6600k and a GTX 1070 SC, running Mafia III at 1080p with unlimited framerate option and all settings on high my game never drops below 70fps and IMO Mafia is extremely well optimized, I'm quite surprised at your conclusion.
Sorry but I find this hard to believe. Mafia III is badly optimised.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-16, 08:46 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Sorry but I find this hard to believe. Mafia III is badly optimised.
I'll admit I only played about ten minutes of it but I never saw lower than 52 FPS on a Titan XM @1414mhz with a 5820k stock. And that was at 1440p. The only thing I lowered was motion blur, which I turned off because it makes me feel ill.

I haven't had the time to play it for longer yet.

Edit. Looking here however suggests that the 1070 has a minimum framerate of 46 FPS, which lends credence to what he has said. At 1440p it had a minimum frame rate of 38, which kind of lends credence to what I am saying.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,6.html

I know GFE is pestering me to install a new driver but I'm not going to bother atm.

However, 46 FPS and 38 FPS as bare minimums are not indicative of bad performance IMO. If anything that just means they remain playable at all times.

I'm sure if you lowered the FSAA to medium then your FPS would shoot up also.. But yeah, I don't think bad performance is anywhere near the worst of this game's crimes. I think that's bugs.

Edit 2, also note from that article -

Also driving in a car eats away deeper in your framerate opposed to walking inside a building. We use a scene where we drive and where the FPS is best described as the worst case scenario. So overall your FPS will likely be a nice notch higher, but you will run into situations where the FPS is as low as we have shown in this article, that is a guarantee.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-10-16, 02:19 PM
Primey Primey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I'll admit I only played about ten minutes of it but I never saw lower than 52 FPS on a Titan XM @1414mhz with a 5820k stock. And that was at 1440p. The only thing I lowered was motion blur, which I turned off because it makes me feel ill.

I haven't had the time to play it for longer yet.

Edit. Looking here however suggests that the 1070 has a minimum framerate of 46 FPS, which lends credence to what he has said. At 1440p it had a minimum frame rate of 38, which kind of lends credence to what I am saying.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,6.html

I know GFE is pestering me to install a new driver but I'm not going to bother atm.

However, 46 FPS and 38 FPS as bare minimums are not indicative of bad performance IMO. If anything that just means they remain playable at all times.

I'm sure if you lowered the FSAA to medium then your FPS would shoot up also.. But yeah, I don't think bad performance is anywhere near the worst of this game's crimes. I think that's bugs.

Edit 2, also note from that article -

Also driving in a car eats away deeper in your framerate opposed to walking inside a building. We use a scene where we drive and where the FPS is best described as the worst case scenario. So overall your FPS will likely be a nice notch higher, but you will run into situations where the FPS is as low as we have shown in this article, that is a guarantee.
The game doesn't use FSAA. It uses a very weak form of AA, probably FXAA because your performance doesn't move at all if you change the AA option and things get very blurry at high aa.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-12-16, 12:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,245
Well I bought this a couple of days back and actually played it for more than five minutes. Running on a 2ghz CPU and Fury X but surprisingly smooth tbh. It might be because I now run Freesync on the monitor.

Good game. Stories are a bit long though but the music is fantastic !
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-12-16, 12:29 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Well I bought this a couple of days back and actually played it for more than five minutes. Running on a 2ghz CPU and Fury X but surprisingly smooth tbh. It might be because I now run Freesync on the monitor.

Good game. Stories are a bit long though but the music is fantastic !
I have heard that there have been a few performance patches that were released in November, but sadly we moved our game test rig to X99 and cannot compare our results fairly.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.