Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-07-16, 05:26 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,664
ASUS Rampage V 10th Anniversary Edition Review



Following on from our preview we finally put the Rampage V Edition 10 through the OC3D testing mill and see how it stacks up.


ASUS Rampage V 10th Anniversary Edition Review

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-16, 01:35 AM
Drider's Avatar
Drider Drider is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 35
The One Board To Rule Them All!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-16, 11:31 PM
RandomBadger's Avatar
RandomBadger RandomBadger is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 423
I think the Mrs has given me the final green light on an upgrade..

I'm thinking this mobo with an Intel i7 6850k and 32Gb ram and a second 980ti classified all under water then that's me done for good.

Apparently we are saving to buy a house..... Aha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-08-16, 01:29 AM
Jabs Jabs is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Asus Rampage V 10

I have a question regarding the memory for the motherboard,Corsair is lagging with delivering the 3333mhz Dominator mems i ordered,now the shop has gotten me some Vengance LED 3400mhz in a 4x8 kit bundle,will they work in the motherboard or am i better of waiting for thé 3333mhz ?.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-08-16, 05:53 AM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabs View Post
I have a question regarding the memory for the motherboard,Corsair is lagging with delivering the 3333mhz Dominator mems i ordered,now the shop has gotten me some Vengance LED 3400mhz in a 4x8 kit bundle,will they work in the motherboard or am i better of waiting for thé 3333mhz ?.
The bigger question is will the memory work with your CPU as you are at the limits of what Broadwell E can do speed wise. You may be lucky and be able to get it to run with a good IMC on your CPU but you may be disappointed.

You are also pushing your luck with the capacity as the more you want to run the harder it is for the CPU.

You need to work out what you want to use your PC for and get the right memory for it.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-08-16, 10:00 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,664
^^^Kap is right. 3466 probably wont XMP and youd have to set it up manually (youd want to no matter what at that speed) but your CPU will be the limiting factor not the board.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-08-16, 09:59 AM
Jabs Jabs is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Well i kinda just copied your test rig, with some minor upgrades to motherboard and ssd, and want the system to operate at max lvl, and be able use the xmp safely without too much hassle, i got a i7 6850 cpu and i used a samsung 950 pro 512GB m.2 ssd insted, and a Strix 1080, RMI 1000 power supply and H115i for cooling.
So if i stick to the Corsair Dominator memory that support the max xmp OC of the motherboard i should be ok right ?.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-08-16, 10:33 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,664
No mate the brand wont matter - the --- CPU --- is what will limit the memory speed.

If you want XMP and dont have much experience then Id buy 3000MHz memory
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-16, 01:31 AM
Jabs Jabs is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
New Rig

So i guess i won in the silicon Lottery, my i7 6850 is stable at 4.6 on the asus rampage V10 board, got mad at the noobs from corsair and their stupidly overpriced rams the could not deliver, so i found some ,G-skill 32 gb that had way´better timings 14-14-14-34 and i made 7400 approx in 3d mark spy theme,on basic setup no oc at all so now im a happy clown,ty alot for some epic vidioes and advice that was very very very informative, the system ended up look like Star Wars on LSD. =D
wil try and push the system further when that OC3D guide arrives. hint hint =D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.