Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-07-16, 09:44 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,301
Futuremark Release 3DMARK Time Spy DirectX 12 Benchmark

Futuremark has released their new 3DMARK Time Spy DirectX 12 Benchmark, which supports Asynchronous Compute, Explicit Multi-GPU and more.



Read more on 3DMARK Time Spy.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-07-16, 06:09 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Will this benchmark be added to the official testing suite?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-07-16, 06:13 PM
Pr3d4t0r Pr3d4t0r is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Crewe Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,033
it was added on steam the other day, free version doesn't let you customise it or skip demo however.

got score of 5500 with my rig
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7, i7 [email protected], Palit Super Jetstream GTX 980ti, 16GB Corsair Vengence [email protected] 9/10/9/10/26 , Corsair HX850i, NZXT H440 grid+, Corsair H100 Push nff12, AF140 outake 5.6v, 3xsp120 intake 5.6v 250gb 840evo boot, 120gb V300 games, 1tb wd black storage||| 3Dmark score
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-07-16, 06:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr3d4t0r View Post
it was added on steam the other day, free version doesn't let you customise it or skip demo however.

got score of 5500 with my rig
It kinda angers me. I already paid for the benchmark entirely, why do I need to buy an additional benchmark for it? If they wanted to charge for it they should have made it a separate version all together, they basically lied when they said it's free for current users. It's not. Anyone can get the free version. Not one person gets the paid one for free
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-07-16, 07:06 PM
Fetchez La Vache Fetchez La Vache is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 153
Anyone interested to see what a Pro-Duo can score? Once I replace my PSU that just died.
__________________
Enjoys granola, beard enthusiast, once owned a 780Ti for a day.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-07-16, 09:49 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
It kinda angers me. I already paid for the benchmark entirely, why do I need to buy an additional benchmark for it? If they wanted to charge for it they should have made it a separate version all together, they basically lied when they said it's free for current users. It's not. Anyone can get the free version. Not one person gets the paid one for free
You paid for the previous benchmarks, if they keep releasing new benchmarks for free they'll be out of business fairly soon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-07-16, 10:37 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
You paid for the previous benchmarks, if they keep releasing new benchmarks for free they'll be out of business fairly soon.
^^this. While I do find it odd that they would add dlc to 3dmark, it would have been better had they just released a fresh new stand alone benchmark for DX12.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-07-16, 05:46 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
You paid for the previous benchmarks, if they keep releasing new benchmarks for free they'll be out of business fairly soon.
Which is why I said it should have been a separate one entirely. Adding it to everyone's DLC list on steam and then inside the client advertise for buying it, is very annoying. Sure a single banner at the top that says buy the new DX12 benchmark would be fine, but anymore is annoying. Hence again the need for them to have put it in a separate client.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-07-16, 10:29 AM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Which is why I said it should have been a separate one entirely. Adding it to everyone's DLC list on steam and then inside the client advertise for buying it, is very annoying. Sure a single banner at the top that says buy the new DX12 benchmark would be fine, but anymore is annoying. Hence again the need for them to have put it in a separate client.
What's the difference between having to pay for a benchmark as a DLC or as a standalone version. It just makes things less organized. Idk what you mean by "Adding it to everyone's DLC list on steam", my DLC list shows the DLCs i own, not the ones i can buy. It's not like they bombard you with popup messages telling you to buy their new DLC, there isn't anything telling you to buy the full benchmark before you bother to click on custom run.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-07-16, 11:19 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Which is why I said it should have been a separate one entirely. Adding it to everyone's DLC list on steam and then inside the client advertise for buying it, is very annoying. Sure a single banner at the top that says buy the new DX12 benchmark would be fine, but anymore is annoying. Hence again the need for them to have put it in a separate client.
SKU'ing in steam is more complicated than you would think, bare in mind there are effectively 3 products.

1) Everyone 'free' version
2) Everyone who bought before free version, granted by previous purchase. This will likely be in a 'bundle'
3) Full version sku, out of bundle

It will have been done the way it is for a reason, and I imagine that reason is because of something in Steam, not in 3DMark. Steam entitlements are really complicated, and that's not something that anyone not at steam can change.
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | Corsair RM1000i | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.