Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-06-16, 06:24 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,675
Microsoft announces Project Scorpio Xbox One Console

Microsoft announces Project Scorpio Xbox One Console, which features a new 8-core CPU and a GPU with 6TFLOPS of compute performance.



Read more on the Xbox One Project Scorpio.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-06-16, 07:00 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,085
Depending on how many games they bring on PC, makes the buying of an Xbox questionable
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN 1500x, H100i GTX
MB: MSI TOMAHAWK ARCTIC
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-06-16, 07:11 PM
SpencerUk SpencerUk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Posts: 193
This has been announced because they know the Xbox One is technologically inferior to the current PS4.

Sony need Microsoft to keep them on their toes but one can't help think that Microsoft would be better off partnering with someone like Steam and just go PC :/
__________________
Laptop (Portable Driver): Macbook Pro 15 (Mid 2012)
Current Desktop: The Darkest Knight

Desktop 1: (Antec 300, Old Q6600) >> Retired
Desktop 2: (Antec Aria, Retired Opteron 185) >> Zen Upgrade (Eventually)
Server: (Bit-Fenix Phenom Mini ITX, i5 4570S, 8GB Ram, 18TB HDD Raid 1)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-06-16, 07:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,107
Xbox one has 1.31TFLOPs of compute performance. Safe to say this is nearly 4x the amount of power in the GPU alone.

Don't think you could fit a single 8 core chip and a 6TFLOP GPU on one die, considering those types of GPUs take up massive amounts of die area now, it'll probably be an 8 Core Zen and a AMD GPU equal, so probably the 480 when considering it will take more than a year to plan out, the hardware out now is what will go into it, unless they do somewhat radically different. This is assuming it's AMD. Which it is guaranteed to be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-06-16, 10:09 PM
SpencerUk SpencerUk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Posts: 193
I think Microsoft may have shown their hand a little early. Nintendo did this with the Wii U and this ultimately flopped....I know you can't really compare Nintendo to Microsoft as 3rd party dev's never really like working with Nintendo...but its possible the same pattern could be seen here.
__________________
Laptop (Portable Driver): Macbook Pro 15 (Mid 2012)
Current Desktop: The Darkest Knight

Desktop 1: (Antec 300, Old Q6600) >> Retired
Desktop 2: (Antec Aria, Retired Opteron 185) >> Zen Upgrade (Eventually)
Server: (Bit-Fenix Phenom Mini ITX, i5 4570S, 8GB Ram, 18TB HDD Raid 1)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-06-16, 11:08 PM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,738
Seems MS and Sony are both going down the same route for their midlife update consoles.

It makes sense as long as the games can play across new and old versions of each. I'm not sure what it would mean for the developers though, there was talk of having different versions for the PS4 on one disc so could be similar. Enhanced graphics or frame rates for the Scorpio etc.

I'm keen for the cross play to become more standard and I think MS are after the living room HTPC and gaming market.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-06-16, 12:18 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimma47 View Post
Seems MS and Sony are both going down the same route for their midlife update consoles.

It makes sense as long as the games can play across new and old versions of each. I'm not sure what it would mean for the developers though, there was talk of having different versions for the PS4 on one disc so could be similar. Enhanced graphics or frame rates for the Scorpio etc.

I'm keen for the cross play to become more standard and I think MS are after the living room HTPC and gaming market.
Many devs are going to Download only. It's so much cheaper for them than to buy blu ray discs and mass produce them. Not even including shipping worldwide. It's cheaper to just have Steam take a royalty cut. Or other services that are being used.

MS said they plan on more frequent hardware updates. Which begs the question, why not just get a PC? Instead of buying a whole new system every 3 years you could just do it once and pay the same amount over time. Not even counting games which can be had on PC for much less. That's also inlcuding the new MS push towards bringing Xbox and Windows closer together. But for the casual gamers, probably don't matter to them. They'll stick to consoles as long as games are being made for them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-06-16, 08:15 AM
Breit Breit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
No one would say that a R9 390X on a PC is "more than powerful enough for VR gaming", especially not in 4K. How come this is different for consoles?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-06-16, 10:01 AM
DarthDudo's Avatar
DarthDudo DarthDudo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breit View Post
No one would say that a R9 390X on a PC is "more than powerful enough for VR gaming", especially not in 4K. How come this is different for consoles?
Don't be ridiculous no one would say a 390x or even a 390 is not enough for VR, a 390x is better than a GTX 970 or 980 most of the time it is powerful enough for current VR games especially these new console Head mounted displays with there lower resolutions (and likely weaker post processing/effects/filters) as compared to the HTC Vive or Occulus Rift
__________________
CPU: i5 3570K CPU Cooler: NH-U12S RAM: Crucial Ballistic 16GB GPU: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0 Motherboard: ASUS Z68-V SSD: Sandisk 480GB PSU: Super flower 650w Platinum Case: Define R5 PCGH Monitor: Dell U2414H
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-06-16, 10:42 AM
Breit Breit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDudo View Post
Don't be ridiculous no one would say a 390x or even a 390 is not enough for VR, a 390x is better than a GTX 970 or 980 most of the time it is powerful enough for current VR games especially these new console Head mounted displays with there lower resolutions (and likely weaker post processing/effects/filters) as compared to the HTC Vive or Occulus Rift
I'm not a big fan of VR anyways, but from all I've gathered so far common sense seems to be that for VR to be "immersive enough" it need high refresh rates (in the range of 90+ FPS), low latency inputs and a high resolution as well (probably 1440p or even 2160p and not just 1080p). Remember that you need to render 2 viewports in that resolution. I don't see that with a R9 390X.
Sure, for a low frame rate (current consoles render usually at 30 FPS) and a low resolution (720p/900p is what current consoles do) a R9 390X will suffice, but that can't be great in terms of VR experience (motion sickness comes to mind).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.