Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-01-07, 11:09 AM
MikeEnIke MikeEnIke is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,488
Creative Enables Hardware Accelerated 3D Audio in Vista

Creative Labs has added support for the ALchemy Project, enabling the use of 3D sound in the newest version of Windows. Check out the news for more information on 3D audio acceleration in Vista...

Discuss this news story below.

__________________
Intel C2D e6600 @ 3.6Ghz

G.Skill DDR2-800

Abit FP-IN9

BFG 8800GTS 630/1000

Seagate 360GB and 160GB SATA II 7200 RPM

Cooler Master iGreen 500w Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-01-07, 12:25 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Noice

Now I know I can use my X-Fi on Vista fine
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-01-07, 06:17 PM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
Why did M$ have to screw with the sound

I hope they get all my games working with my Audigy 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-01-07, 06:52 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='macgamesrule'
Why did M$ have to screw with the sound

I hope they get all my games working with my Audigy 2
improvement my son, improvement. Dont ask me where or how...
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-01-07, 07:54 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
I thought this was supposed to be the "ultimate" gaming OS? If thats the case then why did they take out 3d sound? Dosent make sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-01-07, 07:59 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
i dont think they wanted to get rid of 3d sound, but wanted to get rid of HAL, which in my opinion will boost stability loooads.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-01-07, 08:00 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
I thought this was supposed to be the "ultimate" gaming OS? If thats the case then why did they take out 3d sound? Dosent make sense to me.
I agree! They said Vista will be awesome for gaming.. So far... they have failed! :sleep:
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-01-07, 08:03 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Quote:
i dont think they wanted to get rid of 3d sound, but wanted to get rid of HAL, which in my opinion will boost stability loooads.
Well isnt that the thing that lets older cards run 3d sound? I dont think i have anything that supports OpenAL right now, and im pretty sure no onboard does. So you HAVE to have an X-Fi to get 3d sound in Vista?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-01-07, 08:06 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
yea vista takes up too mutch ram i could play games full graphics on xp but with vista games stutter

my onboard suround sound works on vista
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-01-07, 08:12 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Does BF2 and everything work fine on Vista. Like the sound still the same? (With your onboard)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.