Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-02-16, 10:49 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,609
Intel has disabled Non-K Skylake Overclocking

Intel has put their foot down and disabled the Non-K Skylake Overclocking loophole in a BIOS code update stating that "we do not recommend overclocking processors that have not been designed to do so".



Read more on Intel disabling Non-K Skylake overclocking in a voluntary BIOS update.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-16, 12:44 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Look Under Your Bed
Posts: 867
Quote:
we do not recommend overclocking processors that have not been designed to do so.
Or more like "We do not recommend overclocking processors that you haven't paid us more money for"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-16, 12:45 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
It was bound to happen . I'm sure if AMD had been putting up a fight in the CPU department this wouldn't have ever been the case.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-16, 01:14 PM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Not shocked i knew this way going to happen. Intel doesn't want people buying non-K cpu and over clocking them. In Intel's world there losing money with people buying non-K cpu's and over clocking.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-16, 01:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,268
As the saying goes "What are you going to do about it?".

The horse has already bolted and bioses are safely stashed away for any one who wants them. Unless of course Intel can force lock the chips so they can't be overclocked.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-16, 01:28 PM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Unless of course Intel can force lock the chips so they can't be overclocked.
I think that is what Intel is going to in the long run.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-16, 01:31 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,514
It's damage limitation, the non Ks are already binned why would you risk popping the CPU and possibly ending up costing you double, when you should have gone down the K series route anyway.

It's not a conspiracy it's simply damage limitation.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-16, 01:34 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
It's damage limitation, the non Ks are already binned why would you risk popping the CPU and possibly ending up costing you double, when you should have gone down the K series route anyway.
I guess that's what Intel want people to think. They've always seen overclocking as a dirty subject and thus has treated it as so. They've used it to cash in and when the tables are turned they don't like it.

The only thing this statement does for me is take my recommendation for a low-mid range rig back to the AMD FX 6300. Because it has six cores and responds very well to overclocking.

Without an I3 than can be overclocked I couldn't recommend anything from Intel at that sector of the market which they should be taking over now.

Have they released another useless two core CPU you can overclock yet? maybe they won't bother this gen.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-16, 02:14 PM
RobCrezz's Avatar
RobCrezz RobCrezz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Essex
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
It's damage limitation, the non Ks are already binned why would you risk popping the CPU and possibly ending up costing you double, when you should have gone down the K series route anyway.

It's not a conspiracy it's simply damage limitation.
No.. Some of us have been overclocking CPUs long before there were "oc" versions.

They just don't want overclocking on their cheaper CPUs.

If you really think there is less chance "popping" a K CPU then you are mistaken.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.