Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-02-16, 11:23 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 11,580
XCOM 2 PC Performance Review - AMD VS Nvidia

What kind of hardware is needed to push back the oppressive Aliens in XCOM 2? Are our Earthly GPUs up for the task?



Read our XCOM 2 GPU Performance review.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-16, 04:53 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,796
Performance on a TitanX maxed @2160p is much better than a GTX 980 Ti.

Below I think is the reason why.

Check out the memory usage.

__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-16, 04:54 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,341
What avg FPS on TitanX Kaap?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-16, 04:57 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
What avg FPS on TitanX Kaap?
About 17fps maxed @2160p
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-16, 05:00 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 9,899
These new games really are complete VRAM pigs. I kinda knew this would happen once the consoles had loads of available VRAM but nowhere near as bad as this.

With BLOPS 3 the newest update removes the extra settings from my PC (Fury x 4gb). If I hack it and enable extra settings it either black screens on load or very rarely does load up. However, within a few seconds it turns into a slide show.

And I was having the same issue with ROTTR when setting everything as high as it would go. It was fine for a couple of minutes, then it turned into a slide show and on a couple of occasions it actually stopped and ground to a halt and took about two minutes before it continued on. Now that I have lowered a few of the settings to high and left the main detail setting on very high it flies along lovely.

The problem of course is that these new consoles have up to 6gb vram available to them for 1080p . So instead of the devs optimising their textures and so on they are simply making them so that they use up that entire 6gb of texture memory at 1080p.

All of a sudden Titan X sounds far less stupid than it did when it launched.

I don't think it will be long before the 6gb the 980ti has becomes a minimum requirement for max settings, and could even be quite soon before that 6gb becomes out of date.

So much for AMD and their "It doesn't matter because it's HBM and it doesn't work like GDDR". Yeah, right.

Saying that though I do not blame AMD. As I said above fat bloatware is what causes these issues. I've got a whole ton of games that look fantastic at 4k and don't use anywhere near the same vram as these newest games.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Who do you think you are? running 'round leaving scars. Collecting your jar of hearts, tearing love apart. You're gonna catch a cold, from the ice inside your soul, so don't come back for me, don't come back at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-16, 05:01 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
About 17fps maxed @2160p
That mem usage is certainly interesting.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-16, 08:55 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 492
Quote:
I don't think it will be long before the 6gb the 980ti has becomes a minimum requirement for max settings, and could even be quite soon before that 6gb becomes out of date.
Wait till VR takes off then dude.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-16, 10:21 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 12,402
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
46FPS maxed at 1080P ? that is crazy low.
__________________
=Steam - Dicehunter = Origin - Dicehunter - Uplay - DicehunterUPLAY=
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-16, 11:08 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,350
Wow, this game is incredibly demanding. That's another one added to the roster of new titles that are surprisingly demanding. I hope this trend slows down a little.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-16, 11:19 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 12,402
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Just noticed this in the conclusion.

Quote:
especially when you consider the performance and visual fidelity of other modern titles like Rise of The Witcher 3
Is this a new crossover game ?

On a side note I just played a bit of XCOM 2, Cranked up the settings to max minus AA which was off and was getting around 60FPS at 1440P with an overclocked 980 Ti.

For the graphics this game has I can't understand why it demands such high end hardware as it's not exactly mind blowing or as WYP said any better than TW3, Battlefront which generally have decent performance.

Bad optimization maybe ?




*EDIT*

At 1080P maxed out minus AA which visually makes very very little difference, The performance is actually pretty good and that's with no overclock on the GPU at all

__________________
=Steam - Dicehunter = Origin - Dicehunter - Uplay - DicehunterUPLAY=
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.