Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-02-16, 04:36 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 12,745
Rise of the Tomb Raider PC performance retested with new AMD drivers

AMD has just released their new Rise of the Tomb Raider optimized driver for their GPUs. Let's see how much performance improves.



Have a look at AMD's performance with their new Crimson 16.1.1 Driver.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-16, 04:57 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,162
Thanks for the timely review

Just a note. I had a crash earlier and after that the game was black screening, then crashing. The only workaround that got it going again was to disable Crossfire, play past that point and then enable it again.

It seems there is still work to do, either with the driver or the game itself.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-16, 05:13 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,312
Seems like a small improvement but decent.

Now I just need nVidia to sort out there performance, but I also need to sort out my performance on the game as of today after, a reinstall of windows my frame rates have dropped to 15fps for the first minute of playing, then jumps to 30fps after that.

Downloading Unigine Valley at the moment to look at what that looks like, otherwise I have some stuff to work out tomorrow when I wake up.
__________________
7700K @ 4.5Ghz De-Lidded, 32G DDR4 2400Mhz, 1080Ti, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo (NVME), H100i
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-16, 05:32 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,162
I'm getting FPS jumps too. Especially when the advice meter appears at the top of the screen. It seems to crawl when that's there, then goes back to normal once it's gone.

Still, at least my GPUs are scaling enough to make the game playable at 4k with max settings. I'd been waiting a very long time for this, so I'm very happy I can play it now.

I've reported my issues (and the FO4 one) directly to AMD so I'm now waiting on them. I guess it's kind of good news that they have a profile for Fallout 4, because it must mean the game engine will work with it and they could have that fixed before long.

And that would be nice, given that as soon as they launch the X2 it's going to live or die by support and performance in the latest games.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-16, 05:35 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,312
My frame rate was rock stable at between 30fps to 60fps maxed out at 4K, yesterday but today after a fresh install of windows due to some issues I was having, with other software and audio stuff, the performance is a mess.

Got a video converting at the moment that has about 10 minutes left then gonna run Unigine Valley, if that shows issues then I will leave it till tomorrow and just watch some films tonight.
__________________
7700K @ 4.5Ghz De-Lidded, 32G DDR4 2400Mhz, 1080Ti, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo (NVME), H100i
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-16, 05:45 PM
JLR JLR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Wales
Posts: 278
Nice review . Good to see AMD can still put up a good fight.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-16, 05:50 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
My frame rate was rock stable at between 30fps to 60fps maxed out at 4K, yesterday but today after a fresh install of windows due to some issues I was having, with other software and audio stuff, the performance is a mess.

Got a video converting at the moment that has about 10 minutes left then gonna run Unigine Valley, if that shows issues then I will leave it till tomorrow and just watch some films tonight.
I'm getting 45-60 FPS when it doesn't stutter like that. I don't have CSAA or whatever it is enabled though I dropped to FXAA because AMD don't recommend the other ones (it causes texture flicker).

Perfectly happy with the graphics if I'm being honest, it's a wonderful experience
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.