Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-02-16, 01:54 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,675
AMD Refreshes Q1 CPU Offerings - New CPUs and Cooler designs

AMD has refreshed their Q1 CPU offerings, offering New CPUs, APUs and Cooler designs. One of the CPUs uses AMD's new Excavator CPU design.



Read more on AMD's new CPU and APU offerings.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-16, 01:58 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,744
A nice try, but you'd be pretty crazy to go with any AMD CPU atm.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-16, 02:19 PM
m2geek m2geek is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
A nice try, but you'd be pretty crazy to go with any AMD CPU atm.
Yea no kidding!

Nothing AMD make at the moment is even Remotely worth spending money on.

I hope "Zen" is a return to *Good* and *PROPER* AMD CPUs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-16, 03:05 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by m2geek View Post
Yea no kidding!

Nothing AMD make at the moment is even Remotely worth spending money on.

I hope "Zen" is a return to *Good* and *PROPER* AMD CPUs.
The APUs still serve a purpose if you are looking for something to game very mildly on but anything more strenuous nowadays will leave you wanting.

Zen will have a much stronger GPU portion I feel so yeah, waiting is probably sensible.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-16, 03:07 PM
m2geek m2geek is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
The APUs still serve a purpose if you are looking for something to game very mildly on but anything more strenuous nowadays will leave you wanting.

Zen will have a much stronger GPU portion I feel so yeah, waiting is probably sensible.
Mmm - I haven't had a AMD CPU since the Phenom X4 I had ages ago. Been Nothing but Intel/NVidia since.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-16, 04:04 PM
xnax2802's Avatar
xnax2802 xnax2802 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 456
Might consider that 7860K for my upcoming HTPC build if Zen doesn't show up before I get off my backside
__________________
"Your grasp of the obvious is inspiring" -Commander Shepard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-16, 05:07 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by m2geek View Post
Mmm - I haven't had a AMD CPU since the Phenom X4 I had ages ago. Been Nothing but Intel/NVidia since.
A while back now (and I mean at least a couple of years) I was faced with either 4670k and board or 8320 with best board. I chose 8320 with best board because I wanted to run a SLI hack that needed something the 4670k didn't have, and the locked version of the same CPU was pretty slow.

I don't regret it, at all. I absolutely loved my 8320, it clocked like a nut case and gaming on it was about as good as I could have expected. It was also excellent for running VMware (where I5 Ks can't) and so on.

I only got rid of it because I had some luck with money and decided to go with a pretty high end Intel that was hands down better in everything.

The 8320E is still overall a much better CPU than the I3 6100. The problem is, if you are looking for a low down and dirty gaming rig the I3 in most games is faster and therefore there is no reason to go with the 8320E. It's highlighted even more by the board cost for the 8320E (if you want it to shine you need an expensive board) and the top end cooling. Nothing but a H100+ will do, really.

So yeah, since Skylake the I3 is the better gaming CPU. Obviously if you are threading hard then the 8320E is better, but that's not the case most of the time.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-16, 06:14 PM
MrKambo's Avatar
MrKambo MrKambo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London blaadd!
Posts: 3,322
Send a message via Skype™ to MrKambo
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I don't regret it, at all. I absolutely loved my 8320, it clocked like a nut case and gaming on it was about as good as I could have expected. It was also excellent for running VMware (where I5 Ks can't) and so on.
I may have misunderstood what you said, but according to Intel ARK, the I5 4690K supports Virtualisation Technology

http://ark.intel.com/products/80811/...up-to-3_90-GHz

I mean any CPU can run VMWare Guest OS's but with VT obviously has better control of the instruction set.
__________________
steam|origin|insta:mrkambo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-16, 06:24 PM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKambo View Post
I may have misunderstood what you said, but according to Intel ARK, the I5 4690K supports Virtualisation Technology

http://ark.intel.com/products/80811/...up-to-3_90-GHz

I mean any CPU can run VMWare Guest OS's but with VT obviously has better control of the instruction set.
Yeah it would seem you're right, even I didn't think they were able to haha
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-16, 06:29 PM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKambo View Post
I may have misunderstood what you said, but according to Intel ARK, the I5 4690K supports Virtualisation Technology

http://ark.intel.com/products/80811/...up-to-3_90-GHz

I mean any CPU can run VMWare Guest OS's but with VT obviously has better control of the instruction set.
i5 K series CPU's support VT-x but not VT-d on most systems. All down to the chip having direct IO access for VMWare. But VMWare WILL run on i5 K series chips, just need to install it to run using VT-x, plus you must make sure it is enables within the BIOS.
__________________
I'm not a Geek! ..... I'm an intellectual BADASS!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.