Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-11-15, 08:24 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,794
AMD's Radeon Software drivers have a fan speed issue causing GPUs to overheat

AMD's Radeon Software drivers have a fan speed issue causing GPUs to overheat.



Read more on AMD's fan speed issue in their Radeon Software Crimson Drivers.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-11-15, 09:17 AM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 427
The issue is that profiles don't properly save. Sometimes fan speed will be set to auto and sometimes it will be set to manual. Game profiles don't save either so hopefully that will be fixed as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-11-15, 09:28 AM
Filby83 Filby83 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 94
thought my GPU was dieing, idle at 40 Degrees, must be this issue lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-11-15, 10:58 AM
SpencerUk SpencerUk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Posts: 193
I just thought that was normal? lol
I noticed my fan was on auto and it was constantly at 19%...thought nothing of it.
__________________
Laptop (Portable Driver): Macbook Pro 15 (Mid 2012)
Current Desktop: The Darkest Knight

Desktop 1: (Antec 300, Old Q6600) >> Retired
Desktop 2: (Antec Aria, Retired Opteron 185) >> Zen Upgrade (Eventually)
Server: (Bit-Fenix Phenom Mini ITX, i5 4570S, 8GB Ram, 18TB HDD Raid 1)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-11-15, 02:22 PM
dwatterworth dwatterworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Rhode Island, United States.
Posts: 201
Hmm, didn't seem to be a problem with the Asus GPU software package installed.
It's always been a bit of a tossup in my mind as to which software suite overrode the other.
My temperatures on a 290x DCUii actually seemed to drop a few degrees under gaming load?
Although my house is not insulated and it's now regularly lower than 0c outside.
GOGO gadget AMD space heater!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-11-15, 11:01 PM
Porxster's Avatar
Porxster Porxster is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: French Fry Land Canada
Posts: 69
You guy's still running on air???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-15, 06:40 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,563
Don't have this problem. Even been switching off between Afterburner and Trixx suite's. No issue here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-15, 07:00 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porxster View Post
You guy's still running on air???
What's wrong with air cooling?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.